Let’s Talk Tipping

This is a subject every server complains about. Ten percent might be okay for God, but it isn’t for us.

I know I appreciate a five percent tip when it takes me ten minutes to clean up crackers and food debris your kid threw all over the floor before my next table (hopefully people who aren’t cheap) can be seated. And in case you didn’t know, some of us have to tip out bussers, hostesses and cooks. We pay taxes based on our sales so if you don’t tip, we are actually paying taxes on your meal.

My ex-husband used to say, “I’ll leave a tip, ‘Get a better job.'” Yet another reason he’s my ex-husband.

Back when I was younger I appreciated every tip and I didn’t even think about the percent. As I get older, it’s all about the percent. Your tip pays for me to bring you drinks, food and to clean up your mess. I’m there to make sure you don’t want for anything. That’s my job and I truly don’t mind. However, I am providing you a service and I expect to be paid for it. If you think tipping is optional, there is a place for you to eat. It’s called McDonalds. There, you get your own food from a surly counter helper, you carry your food to a (most likely dirty) table, you get your ass up to fetch ketchup, straws, napkins, drink refills, and whatever else you can’t live without and when you are finished eating you clean up your mess. Maybe.

Here’s a little insight for you shitty tippers: I remember you and when I see you come in I beat the hostess and seat you with a new server, one who will provide the service you are willing to pay for. So while you are sitting at your table wondering where your airhead server is, my people are already enjoying their appetizers. And before you complain to the manager, maybe you should ask yourself why you consistently get shitty service.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sherri
    Jun 03, 2009 @ 15:14:45

    Hi, Holly! Good to see you blogging. I've put you on my reader.

    Reply

  2. darcknyt
    Jun 04, 2009 @ 20:21:20

    So THAT'S why I keep wondering why it's so hard to get good help these days! Boy, you think you know a person … 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

