From the Crazy File…

A few months ago a local family of three came in for dinner. After they had their food for a couple of minutes, I went to check on them. The woman said she didn’t care for the spare ribs since they were tough and fatty. Spare ribs, being what they are, usually are fatty, but not tough so I told the manager, who is also a cook, that we had a complaint on the ribs.

When I walked by their table again, the woman yelled at me that I had no right to tell the cooks she complained. I apologized and said it was a requirement of my job to let the manager know whenever the food isn’t up to our customer’s standards.

I heard the boy say, “Oh no,” right before the woman started screaming, “GET AWAY FROM ME! GET AWAY FROM ME! GET AWAY FROM ME!”

The best I could do was blink, shake my head and walk away before the wackjob came after me with a butter knife.

As I was delivering food to another table I heard her husband tell her she had no right to talk to me that way. She tried to cover her ass by saying I was at the food window rolling my eyes and bad mouthing her to the cooks. Sorry, but I couldn’t let it pass.

I went over to her table and said, “With all due respect, all I said was ‘we have a complaint on the ribs’. The cooks had no idea who complained until you decided to make a scene like you are right now. Furthermore, I had my back to you so there was no way you could see me rolling my eyes even if I was. That makes you a liar.” During all of this she was screaming, “GET AWAY FROM ME! GET AWAY FROM ME!” and lunging at me like there was an unseen hand holding her back. I threw their ticket on the table and told them to make sure they paid on their way out.

This whole ordeal pissed me off so bad I walked out of the restaurant with the idea of never returning. I went out to my van, smoked a cigarette and decided if I felt the same way when I was finished, I was leaving.

As I sat there, the woman and her kid came out of the restaurant, laughing hysterically. I heard her say, “Did you see her face?” as she doubled over in laughter. Her husband came out and told her to shut up because it wasn’t funny, but that made her laugh harder. Then her husband realized he had left his keys on the table. This doubled her over with more laughter because, the woman said, “The waitress probably threw them in the trash.”

Sorry, but you obviously have me confused with you.

He said he left me a big tip, which in fact he did, to make up for her foul treatment of me. His tip went into the Easter flower fund for church, since I wanted nothing to do with them or their money.

A few days after this, the man and woman came in again during my shift, and proceeded to tell everyone who walked by their table how horribly I treated her. WTF?! Again, I couldn’t let it slide. Noticing the man was in his work uniform I walked to their table and said, “Oh, I see you work at XXXX. Maybe I should stop in sometime.”

HAHAHA! I haven’t seen them since.

All I can do with this experience is shake my head and wonder what the hell possesses people to go out in public when they aren’t taking their meds.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. darcknyt
    Jun 16, 2009 @ 11:32:39

    I've heard bizarre stories. I've been part of one punk-ass kid's idea of a "sociology experiment". I've pranked plenty in my day.

    This is rubber-room f**ked up. This person needs professional help. Preferably in an asylum far from people.

    Reply

  2. Holly
    Jun 16, 2009 @ 11:42:07

    When the woman came out of the restaurant laughing, I figured it was a prank and I was more than a little pissed off because I almost quit over it. But when she came back a few days later and tried to stir more shit for me, I decided she was mentally ill.

    Reply

  3. blogmella
    May 26, 2010 @ 00:52:53

    Why are people so evil? And what a bad example she was to that child. Ugh.

    She was evil.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

