Busser Rant

This year instead of hiring actual bussers, The Manager decided to cut some of the hostess/cashier hours and have the girls fill in as bussers. The girls complained at first until they realized how much money they made, then they started fighting over busser hours.

The general complaint I’ve been hearing is several of the servers don’t want a busser because they have to tip them out. Prior to having a busser, The Manager scheduled two hostess/cashiers and one of them helped clean our tables. Only one or two servers tipped out for the help. So several of the servers want to go back to having two hostess/cashiers do their work and not tip them.

This is bullshit and it’s pissing me off!

A few of the servers stand around in the waitstation and bitch about having a busser, which makes the girl who is scheduled feel bad about herself for working.

The absolute worst offender on the bitching never pre-busses her tables and one night when there was only one hostess/cashier and no busser, the server left a table piled with dishes and debris for more than 30 minutes waiting for Kayla to clean it. I told Kayla I would break both her arms if she touched so much as one dish from that table.

Sunday night I got into it with the server about her attitude and called her out on not tipping before we had bussers. She said, “I don’t make $8 an hour.”

No shit. You make $20-$30 an hour. I know, because that’s what I make.

Then she said, “I have a $500 a month car payment.”

Tough shit. Who’s fault is that? We all have living expenses, which is why we work. Having someone else do your work while you pocket all the money is nothing but greed and I hate that shit.

The Manager calls tipping people “Sharing the Love” and I firmly believe in his philosophy. I tip my people and guess what? The busser cleans my tables first. She also makes sure my people are happy with drink refills and lots of water so they tip more. Her help frees me to help the hostess/cashier who in turn makes sure I’m seated as quickly as possible. While some of the other servers are whining about paying a busser, I’m racking up the sales and making money.

I want all of us to succeed because at the end of the day, it’s more money in all our pockets. A selfish, all for me attitude never works out in the end.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Vanessa
    Jul 01, 2009 @ 16:00:32

    The way you're working it out, with tipping your bussers and all, sounds like capitalism at its best to me. 🙂

    Reply

  2. darcknyt
    Jul 01, 2009 @ 16:26:07

    I've been a busboy; I know how that work stinks. Lots of servers look at you out of the corner of their eye to see if you're savvy enough to know they owe you tips. (I wasn't.)

    I always felt the servers (we called 'em waitresses in my day, and they were all young girls where I worked) were being generous when they shared their tips with me.

    Imagine how stupid I felt when I later learned they were SUPPOSED to be cutting me a share. Ugh.

    But I guess it's always been this way — they won't give unless they're forced to. Too bad, but people have never been basically decent and given half a chance are always looking out for themselves.

    Keep up your good work, though, Holly. You do things right and it will surely come back around to you. Not in a karmic way, but in a people-recognize-a-decent-person way.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

