Surviving the 4th

The 4th of July in Cody is feared by everyone in food service. The annual celebration goes from the 1st through the 5th and it draws huge, hungry crowds, it’s hot, and you know you will spend five days running your ass off. It’s also a time when at least half of the staff will be too drunk/hungover to work, usually starting on the 2nd. If everyone is still alive by the 5th, that is yet another reason to celebrate.

Last year I was part of the problem. On the night of the 4th, I left the bar carrying my sandals as I meandered down main street to my motel room. I got to a corner where there is a large car dealership with a huge, lighted sign with an old fashioned clock dial. None of that digital crap. I noticed two people and two police officers across the street. One of the civilians was puking. Not a good sign.

As I crossed the street, I decided carrying my sandals made me look drunk, and I didn’t want to appear drunk, what with two cops right across the street. As soon as I was back on the sidewalk I bent over to put my sandals on and fell right on my face, ass in the air. That didn’t make me look drunk at all. The cops were probably too busy laughing to arrest me for public intoxication.

I went to work the next day with all the skin peeled off the bridge of my nose and scratches on my glasses. I picked gravel and dirt out of my nose for about 9 months.

Boy Cook Darren, out did me this year. He and two other cooks went to a party on the night of the 4th and they started pushing one another until somebody shoved Darren down. He landed flat on his face, which tore a huge chunk out of his bottom lip and knocked out his two front teeth. Arg! It hurt me to look at him last night.

Photobucket
If only it were that cute.

I am so glad another 4th has come and gone. My back hurts, my feet hurt, I think my right hip slipped out of joint, my left wrist is killing me and I think I need to sleep for 72 hours. But at least I have my two front teeth.

Party on!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. darcknyt
    Jul 06, 2009 @ 13:26:04

    Oh, those crazy kid cooks, huh? Who knows what hijinks they'll get into when the holidays roll around?

    Ouch. I don't think I've ever fallen on my face without roller skates involved.

    Reply

  2. Vanessa
    Jul 06, 2009 @ 15:42:34

    I'll be praying you find that sleep!

    My boy looks a lot like the on in the picture you have up. 🙂 Love that toothless grin … on a kid! LOL On an adult it's not so cute anymore! Glad to hear you still have your 2 front teeth! 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

