What Goes Around

Tonight while we were wait listed, a family of 6 came in and they were pretty anxious since they wanted to go to the rodeo. They had about an hour before it started so I gave them menus & told them what NOT to order. Most of our food is pre-cooked so it’s fast. Things like steaks, fish, appetizers, and sausage are cooked to order and take time. I told them about their side dish choices so they would be ready to order when they were seated. After about a 10 minute wait, I found them a table and told their server they were in a hurry and were ready to order. She took great care of them & I checked on them once or twice to make sure they were going to make it out in time.

Why did I go above and beyond my job to make sure this family got seated quickly and were able to order, eat and make it to the rodeo on time when I had a full section of my own to take care of?

Because they were NICE!!

They were not rude when I put their name on the wait list. They didn’t treat me like I was a huge inconvenience to them. They didn’t get all bitchy and act like I was functionally retarded.

Imagine my surprise when Kayla, the cashier, handed me ten dollars from the family just for helping them. They left before I could thank them, so a big THANK YOU! goes out to them.

And let this be a lesson to all of you who AREN’T nice when I ask for your name for the wait list. It’s less about the money and a whole lot more about the attitude.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. darcknyt
    Jul 31, 2009 @ 10:16:23

    And sometimes, it's worth all the trouble, isn't it? 🙂

    Reply

  2. Vanessa (DarcsFalcon)
    Jul 31, 2009 @ 23:12:38

    See? It does pay to be nice to people! It's so nice to see that played out in real life. 🙂 They were nice to you, you were nice back, they were nice again – I love the circular way that works! LOL

    Reply

Leave a Reply

