Happy Birthday to Charlie

Two years ago when I started working at the restaurant, a family from England and the owner of Rhinestone Cowgirl in downtown Cody, came in to celebrate their son’s birthday. He and his sister were so cute in their little cowboy hats. With the help of the family and the rest of the restaurant we sang ‘Happy Birthday’ to little Charlie on his 11th birthday.

Tonight, we were wall to wall people and I was running my ass off when I noticed the owner of Rhinestone Cowgirl and some other people waiting to be seated. As the hostess was leading them to a table, I heard a British accent. As soon as I was able I made my way to their table and asked the boy if his name was Charlie. He said it was so I reminded him about his birthday two years ago. I thought the whole family was going to fall out of their chairs.

At the end of their meal, I rounded up the other servers and we sang ‘Happy Birthday’ to Charlie again, this time on his 13th birthday.

It was really cool seeing the family again and his mom told me, “You made the entire vacation”. Aww shucks. Cute kids and nice people make every day worth it.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. darcknyt
    Aug 01, 2009 @ 04:23:10

    It's so nice to have heartwarming stories from you every once in a while.

    Now get back to your vitriol, damnit. πŸ˜‰

    (j/k)

    Reply

  2. steve
    Aug 02, 2009 @ 07:30:31

    Your the best…now go take some orders..its so tough to get good help….zman sends

    Reply

  3. Holly
    Aug 03, 2009 @ 13:48:17

    You know, I hear that from my boss all the time. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  4. Vanessa (DarcsFalcon)
    Aug 03, 2009 @ 20:56:44

    What a great story! That would have made my vacation too! πŸ˜€

    Reply

Leave a Reply

