Poor, Pitiful Me

I had to work all day Saturday and it nearly killed me. Typically I work 5 hours a day so when I have to pull an open to close shift (12 hours) I start wishing I was dead somewhere around the 10th hour. I take the Lord’s name in vain, trying to get struck by lightening or something equally quick and painless, but He, just like my coworkers, isn’t listening to me.

Typically we also slow down by around 9pm, but that night we got a tidal wave of bikers on their way to the rally in Sturgis, SD. My brain was set to do my fills and clean my section, but instead I had a full section of jolly people and I floundered. Every time I walked out of the wait station I had a new table of people and the hostess kept apologizing for seating me. Seems I was the only one with clean tables in the restaurant.

While I was flopping around like a beached whale, the hostess asked if she could seat me a party of 6. At that time I had 5 new tables and I told her no.

I took a couple of orders and the hostess asked again if she could seat me. At that time I had:

**A party of 4 at Table 1. Ordered, had their drinks, needed a dessert to go out with the meal.

**A party of 4 at Table 2. Ordered, needed a tossed salad and beer & wine. We were out of both types of glasses. I had to hand wash glasses.

**A party of 2 at Table 3. Ordered, had drinks, and food, wanted to play.

**A party of 2 at Table 4. Ordered, needed drinks.

**A party of 4 at Table 5. Ordered, wanted another round of draft beer. Had to hand wash glasses.

I told her there was no way I could take care of 6 more people at that time.

The next time she asked if I could be seated, the food was up for Table 1 and Table 3 had ordered dessert. I was frantically making two desserts and was thinking ahead to getting the handwashed glasses out of the ice so I could finally serve drinks to Table 4 & 5, knowing their food was almost ready & I would have to take it out in less than 3 minutes. I ignored her so when I walked out on the floor and saw 6 people at Table 9 I went nuclear.

What pissed me off about the whole thing is I had spent the entire evening helping the hostess & cashier by seating people, cashing people out, and taking names for the wait list. I busted my ass to help them, yet when I was floundering, the hostess couldn’t even pour a glass of water for one of my tables. All she could do was stand in the wait station and ask when she could add to my misery. I’m to the point where I want to request to only work with Kayla as the cashier/hostess.

On the plus side, Boy Cook Nate quit on Friday night, so the kitchen has been much more productive and easier to work with.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. darcknyt
    Aug 03, 2009 @ 15:52:23

    Okay, that's just screwed. I love people who are willing to take all the help someone else will give, but aren't willing to lift a finger to help anyone else.

    And it's amusing to me how losing an employee can actually make a place MORE productive. HA!

    Reply

  2. steve
    Aug 03, 2009 @ 18:35:23

    …..I thought you were going to say AND NOBODY TIPPED YOU…sounds like another person to help out would be nice…you are AN ANGEL I know this for sure..thanks for the quick laugh…zman sends

    Reply

  3. Vanessa (DarcsFalcon)
    Aug 03, 2009 @ 21:41:44

    I'm sorry work was so sucky for you. 😦

    However, I'm dying to know what the boy cook did in the kitchen that made his leaving such a thing of productive joy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

