Boy Cook Nate

A couple of people questioned how Boy Cook Nate’s departure made the kitchen more productive. How is that possible? I’ll tell you.

BCN spent all of his time in the kitchen trash talking the other cooks and servers. This could be expected if he was the world’s greatest cook. He wasn’t. When I would call back an appetizer, 9 times out of 10 he would forget to start it. When I would ask where it was and when I could expect it he would shout, “Why are you being such a fucking bitch?” or “You can fucking wait until I’m ready to make it.” One night he was so verbally abusive to me, a gigantic firefighter and several of his firefighter friends from Jackson, WY offered to kick his ass if he didn’t shut his mouth. It’s not cool when the customers are rioting.

BCN was absolutely reprehensible to Boy Cook Damon. Damon isn’t the brightest tool in the shed, but he tries to do a good job. I told another server, “I hope when Damon brings a gun to work to shoot Nate he remembers I was always kind to him.” No shit, it was that bad. The verbal abuse Nate dished out to Damon was embarrassing and there wasn’t a single employee who didn’t tell Nate to lay off. If BCN had spent a quarter of his time cooking rather than flapping his gums, he might have accomplished something.

Food service is all about timing. The best environment for cooking or serving is no idle chatter. My nights are spent planning everything I need to do in 5 minute segments. The minute someone starts talking, my train of thought derails and I have to stand in the wait station, losing time while I wonder what the hell I was doing. Cooking is the same concept. BCN’s constant trash talk forced the other cooks to mentally reboot every few minutes, which slowed the kitchen to a crawl. Taking 2 seconds to tell someone to shut up eventually turns into minutes lost while the cooks refocus.

While BCN was running everyone else down, he wasn’t setting up plates. Food would be ready with nowhere to put it. Then the blaming and denying would start. Servers would line up in the window wondering where their food was, since now their timing was off, only to see the kitchen in complete meltdown. What should have been a smooth running machine was reduced to a disaster of comic proportions with servers running into each other, drinks spilled, plates dropped, too much or not enough food cooked, the wrong food going to tables and everyone pissed off at each other. This wasn’t a once a night, wait for the ship to right itself, sort of thing. It started at 5 and ended at 10.

Ironically, BCN spent most of his time out of the kitchen. When he wasn’t creating chaos and hard feelings he wandered the back of the house. Entire shifts go by where I don’t see BC Darren or BC Zach out of the kitchen. Every time I went to the back of the house for beer Nate was wandering between the dish pit and the kitchen. Or he was in the wait station. Or he was out front wandering towards the restroom. Or he was sitting in the salad bar prep room. Or he was coming in from outside. Or he was at the back of the kitchen fiddling with his MP3 player, creating a playlist to screw off to, I mean, cook by. I’ve never seen anyone waste more time, in so many ways.

The Manager had several meetings with him. After each meeting he would tell everyone he got a pat on the back and a raise. I might have been born at night, but it wasn’t last night. I know you don’t get hauled into the office with the door closed to hear what a fabulous job you’re doing. I also know you don’t get an office visit with both The Manager and your shift manager to get a raise. Bullshitting everyone only proves he had no intention of improving his performance.

Today The Manager said the ticket times were much better since BCN left. Just to make sure The Manager doesn’t have a future lack of judgement and rehire him, I gave his wife, The Managerette, all the shitty notes I’d written about BCN and his asinine behaviour. It’s hard to believe one person could drag everyone down like he did, but since he left it has been like sunshine after days of heavy rain.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. steve
    Aug 05, 2009 @ 12:38:39

    ….Sounds like you are happy to see BCN go…well good riddance to him and to show you my appreciation for that story

    *< Zman leaves a $20 Tip>*

    Z sends

    Reply

  2. darcknyt
    Aug 05, 2009 @ 14:10:25

    Well! I guess I'm trying to figure out how this BCN got past the danged probationary period without being fired. What a jagoff.

    Well, good riddance to bad kitchen rubbish, and let the sunshine begin. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Vanessa (DarcsFalcon)
    Aug 05, 2009 @ 15:32:23

    Wow!! How in the world did he manage to get away with that kind of behavior for so long? At least the garbage has been taken out now, and I'm glad things are nicer at work for you. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

