The Vacuum of Stupidity

This happens when you ask a person a question and they give you such a dumb look you can actually feel your IQ being drained.

Recently, I approached a table and asked for their drink order. As the woman responded, “Whaddaya got?” I looked into her eyes and I felt my IQ being Hoovered out of me. It was so bad I could only reply, “Duh…stuff.” I shit you not. I’m surprised I didn’t have to wipe drool off my chin. I managed to shake my head and break eye contact before she ordered a “Pesi”.

On the way back to the wait station I tripped over my foot and nearly fell down, then I ran into a wall. One that has been there as long as I have.

Anna asked if I was okay and I told her, “Oh dear God! That woman sucked my brain.”

Then she told me, “You know, that is my table and the guy who’s with her? He’s our new cook.”

D’oh!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Vanessa (DarcsFalcon)
    Aug 07, 2009 @ 11:28:42

    Oh no! You're going to have to work with this guy! This guy who can't find a woman with brains. *sigh*

    Reply

  2. steve
    Aug 07, 2009 @ 11:58:14

    Wouldn't the classify as irony…..hahaha good luck with the BC Whatever his name is!!!..zman sends

    Reply

  3. darcknyt
    Aug 07, 2009 @ 12:20:04

    You know what? I DATED someone like that for more than two years. I've had to reconstruct my brain in the 20+ subsequent years.

    I feel your pain.

    Reply

  4. AC
    Jul 19, 2011 @ 12:55:47

    Whenever someone asked me that question I answered with ‘Well what are you looking for?’ and if they answered with beer or pop or wine or whatever I would list of the full list as fast as I could. They would normally look at me with shocked vacant expressions and since they didn’t answer I would say ‘Oh I’ll just give you a minute to decide.’ smile and walk away.

    Most restaurants serve pretty much the same non-alcoholic beverages. It’s not that hard to figure out.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

