Welcome Rusty

I picked up my new-to-me van yesterday. It’s the same year as my old one, but this one is a Grand Caravan SE AWD. My other one was just a Caravan so I guess I’m moving up in the world.

I was slightly (okay, very) disappointed to find it doesn’t have power windows. I don’t know how I missed that when I looked it over. I probably wouldn’t have bought it if I had know it had crank windows. It’s such a pain with the dogs when I can’t control their harassment of people by pushing a button. I’m plotting how I can change the cranks to power, but my Mexican mechanic says it can’t be done. We’ll see.

It originally came from Michigan so there’s rust on the driver’s side door and the slider. Not many cars here have rust on them so I’m a little weirded out by it, but I guess I’ll get over it.

I’m still playing with things, finding out what works and what doesn’t. It is in much better condition than my old van; even my son said I wasn’t such an embarrassment now. Shows what he knows.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. darcknyt
    Aug 13, 2009 @ 11:27:28

    Rust is a way of life here, but congrats on the new addition. šŸ™‚

    We have power NOTHING on our car, and it doesn't even have a rear defroster. It's like a car from the stone age. We missed all of that when we looked it over too, somehow. But if it works for ya, well, that's all it needs to do, right? šŸ™‚

    Reply

  2. Holly
    Aug 13, 2009 @ 13:54:55

    Car from the stone age…hahaha!

    Reply

  3. steve
    Aug 13, 2009 @ 16:56:14

    WooHoo…its always cool having a new car..congrats …rust is good…its displays character..zman sends

    Reply

  4. Vanessa (DarcsFalcon)
    Aug 14, 2009 @ 00:52:47

    You'll adjust to its quirks, I'm sure. šŸ™‚ Pretty soon you'll forget what power windows felt like and cranking that handle will just be … automatic. No pun intended!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

