Catering to Assholes

I don’t understand it.

One of the other servers, Callie, is a real sweetheart. She always has nice things to say, she’s really nice to her customers, and she’s very friendly. She also gets some of the most horribly obnoxious people in her section.

Tonight a table of 5 people wanted her to take their picture right after they ordered. So Callie took their picture. Then when she brought their drinks out, they said the one guy didn’t like the angle of the shot because it made him look fat (uh…it wasn’t the camera angle) and could she take another picture. So she did.

This was not her only table and these people insisted on sitting in her section even though it wasn’t Callie’s turn in the rotation. In other words, these people put her behind. She managed to get the fat guy’s dinner salad to him with the other food and he got all rude, shoved it back at her and told her to take it off his ticket since she took too long to get it to him.

I don’t get people like this in my section. By and large my people are nice. (Kayla says it’s because they can see the “crazy” in my eyes and they don’t push their luck.) First of all, my job is to bring you and those around you food and beverages. I am not your personal photographer. If I have time, I will take your picture. If I don’t, you can find someone else to do it. Most of all, I don’t give a shit about the tip you may or may not leave me. If you get rude with me, I will tell you off. Chances are you weren’t going to tip anyway and you’re really not going to when I’m finished, but you may think twice before you mistreat the next person.

In the end, one of the women who was with the fat guy apologized to Callie, said the guy was wretched and she was sick of traveling with him since he was ruining the entire trip.

I think more people need to be called out on their despicable behaviour. If everyone at that table had asked for go-boxes and left him sitting there alone with his douchebaggery, he might not be so rude and embarrassing at the next restaurant. If they left his fat ass at the nearest Greyhound station or alongside the highway, he might make a more agreeable traveling companion.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. steve
    Aug 14, 2009 @ 13:21:53

    ….Always fun to read, but I am sure not fun to experience…you are still my favorite Waitress…and great work DOUCHEBAGGERY….This is why I always leave a tip Zman places a 50 on the table

    Zman

    Reply

  2. Vanessa (DarcsFalcon)
    Aug 14, 2009 @ 13:47:19

    I agree, people should be called out more on their behavior. What happened to the Golden Rule?

    What an ass that guy was. And I don't care what his reasons may be – his mama didn't love him enough, whatever! No one else will love you either if you keep acting like that! Get a clue!

    Reply

  3. darcknyt
    Aug 14, 2009 @ 15:01:50

    Wow, what a douchebag. Oh wait, you already said that. 🙂

    I'm going to have to avoid your restaurant when I'm going through WY. I don't think I'll survive.

    Reply

  4. Holly
    Aug 15, 2009 @ 00:09:46

    Don't be an A-hole and all will be well. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

