The Worst Night

I think tonight was the worst night I’ve ever had in my waitressing “career”.

I had a group of 10 people and while I was taking their order, the man at Table 7 bitched that he needed a drink refill. Jamie offered to get it for him, but he refused and said he wanted me to bring it to him so he could tell me off. I went to his table and asked if I could refill his drink and he snapped, “It would have been nice a long time ago.” His glass was half full. His two daughters’ glasses were half full. I don’t know what his deal was.

After he left, I seated a man and a little girl at the same table. I swear this table was cursed. He told me the rest of his party was on their way and I told him I would be back. Right then the cooks called me for the food for the table of 10. About half way through taking the food out, I saw the rest of the group for Table 7 sit down. It takes a little while to get food to a table, but not that long so imagine my surprise when I walked to Table 7 and the guy was bitching at Dani. She looked shocked and dumbfounded and walked away without replying to him. While I was pouring water, the guy started bitching at me for taking too long to get to their table. The whole party had been seated for no more than 3 minutes and, mind you, the restaurant was full. I apologized and said I was taking food to another table and he snapped, “I don’t want any of your excuses. My son is starving and if it wasn’t for him, we would have walked out. We want a different server.” Jesus fucking Christ. I was doing the best I could. I hit overload and instead of arguing with him I just dropped the water pitcher on the table and walked away. Jay waited on him and it actually took them longer than if he had kept his mouth shut.

I don’t know what the hell was going on tonight. People don’t treat me that way. I know customers treat Dani & Callie horribly, but they rarely do so with me. Maybe it was the new orange Crocs I bought today that made people think I’m sunshiny so therefore they had to ruin my day. Maybe I suck. Maybe it’s time to find a new job. I’m at a crossroads and I see dead ends all around me.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. darcknyt
    Aug 23, 2009 @ 10:43:29

    Sorry you had a crappy day, hon. Assholitude knows no limits, no bounds, no discretion and no mercy.

    I can commiserate on the dead-end thing, though, if that helps any. I wish I had some stunning insight to help you on your way, but being unemployed STILL, all I can do is sit on the curb with ya and say "yeah! Yeah!"

    … which isn't much help. Hope it gets better.

    Reply

  2. steve
    Aug 23, 2009 @ 12:58:56

    Well I would say stay their and stick it out..persistance pays off…but I can also see that some folks are just douche's….You will make the right decision what ever it is……..in the mean time CAN I GET A REFILL PLEASE..he he just playin..zman sends

    Reply

  3. DarcsFalcon
    Aug 23, 2009 @ 22:06:31

    I'm sorry you had such a bad day, hon. Some people … *shaking head*

    I always appreciate a few minutes after I sit down before being greeted by the waitress – gives me a minute to get the kids settled, find a place to put my purse, get comfy, etc. Why is it so hard for people to just be a tad patient with each other?

    Hope tomorrow's better. đŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

