Pukers

I don’t know what is going on this year, but I’ve had more pukers in the last few weeks than I’ve had in the entire time I’ve worked at the restaurant.

Several years ago when I was cooking at the airport cafe, servers frequently rushed back to the kitchen in a panic because someone was throwing up in the dining room. Care and concern for customers only goes so far. I attributed the puking to either being nervous about flying or having an upset stomach from flying.

I can’t think of a reason to barf at any other restaurant.

Recently, I told about the guy who acted like Mr. Creosote and yakked, literally, all over the men’s room. Soon after that it was the couple who said, as they were leaving, “Sorry, our 3 year old threw up under the table.” All I have to say is, I was amazed at how much a 3 year old could hold.

Then there was the little girl who barfed in her strawberry ice cream sundae. Now that is the definition of a bad day. Her dad handed the bowl to Anna, their server, and said, “This is yours.” WTF?!

As servers, our job description is to clean up after customers, but seriously, y’all are taking it a bit too far as of late (I don’t even want to discuss what was in the men’s room on Super Bowl Sunday). If you, your loved ones, or your spawn are sick, stay your ass at home. Or get an order to go. We are not sanitation workers or CNAs. I don’t know what the tip percentage should be, but I’m certain it’s more than what you’re leaving.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcsFalcon
    Sep 03, 2009 @ 14:02:30

    Ewwwww nasty! I just don't get why these people aren't try to clean up after themselves. The least they could do is help.

    Reply

  2. darcknyt
    Sep 03, 2009 @ 15:49:29

    Oh God, I'm gonna hurl …

    Seriously, that's disgusting. Once our son got a piece of lettuce caught in his throat before he could really chew food (I think he only had like four teeth or something), and he upchucked as he tried to get it out of his system. We cleaned it ourselves and it wasn't that bad.

    If we need the wait staff's help, we'd probably also ask for a plastic dish bin to discard all the pukey napkins, which we'd use until the table could be wiped by the servers, meaning there's no more chunks.

    I just don't get people. If you're sick, stay home. WTF? Why do you feel compelled to spread that shit all over the place?

    Reply

  3. Katie
    Nov 06, 2010 @ 00:53:56

    My hubby once had a women puke in a CLOTH napkin and toss it under the table. Of course she left without telling anyone what she’d done, and Hubby got a handful of puke when he picked up the napkin.

    OMG! I would have probably barfed on the spot. I once had a woman with an extreme bloody nose who refused to leave the table. I suggested the restroom a number of times, but she sat there, gushing blood and grossing out her dinner companions. When they got ready to leave, she left her pile of bloody napkins on the table and I made her husband dispose of them. Assholes.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

