"I’m on a Diet"

People have all sorts of weird allergies to food: gluten, MSG, nuts, dairy, beef. Then there are the religious concerns: pork, fish on Fridays. I see diabetics, people who have had surgery for weight loss, or surgery to remove malfunctioning organs. All of these people have questions and concerns about the food they are going to eat.

I have no problem with this. I will read food labels, and recipes, and make sure that the cooks don’t touch the beef with the pork. I will rush to get orange juice for a diabetic and explain how our food is prepared for those worried about fat content.

What doesn’t fly with me is a certain type of woman with a sense of entitlement who believes that just because she is tired of looking at her fat ass, any of the rest of us gives a damn.

A few nights ago a lady informed me, “I am on a diet and I don’t want any of the side dishes that come with the meal so I want to substitute a tossed salad and cottage cheese.” When I told her it was an additional $1.49 for the salad and $1.99 for the cottage cheese, she flipped out.

Sorry babe, I don’t care. You see, later I’m going to make fun of you, but I walk in fear of The Manager. You can have a meltdown and create a scene, but the price remains the same because he said so. If you really want to have a kerfluffle, I’ll bring him out and it will be a long, long time before you wave your sense of entitlement around again.

After her meltdown, she decided to go ahead and order the salad, which she slathered in ranch dressing. Ranch has more fat and calories than any of our side dishes, but whatever floats your boat…dumbass.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. darcknyt
    Sep 04, 2009 @ 11:40:40

    Being a lardass myself, I can understand needing information from the staff to make educated decisions about the food I'm ordering. As someone with a brain, I don't know why someone fat would drown their salad in dressing. Then she'll bitch about dieting and dieting and never losing weight.

    And yeah, they need to be made fun of when they do that. Definitely.

    Reply

  2. DarcsFalcon
    Sep 04, 2009 @ 13:23:16

    LOL Dumbass. Isn't that such a great word? 😀

    And boy, she sure does sound like one!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

