Hair

Let’s talk about hair. It can be curly, straight, long, short, shiny, damaged, and all colours of the rainbow. Nobody really cares about hair, until they find it in their food.

I have an issue about hair. I have blonde, thick, curly, long hair that is out of control, but when I am working, that shit is pulled back, tied down and double clamped. The last thing I want is someone finding my hair in their food.

Most of the people I work with have short hair that it isn’t waving in people’s plates. This has not always been the case. I have worked with people who thought everyone was as enamoured with their hair as they were. They wore their hair pulled back (state law), but the ends would swish around like a horse tail slapping at flies. It was disgusting and they weren’t even serving me food. I also worked with a girl who would put her gum in co-workers’ long hair when they weren’t paying attention, but I digress.

Lately, I have been watching the HBO series ‘True Blood’. It is about a mind reading waitress who gets all caught up in a bunch of vampires’ nasty business. It’s a pretty good show. What makes me screech in horror, though, are the scenes in the restaurant where Sookie & Arlene have their hair hanging in the food. Okay, this is a fantasy show, there are no such things as vampires or mind reading waitresses, but come on! Merlotte’s would be fined so much for the health code violation Sam would have to shave those bitches’ heads & sell their hair to make wigs just to pay his rent.

Photobucket

Twirling your hair while you’re at work is a sign you’re doing it WRONG!

The bottom line is no one thinks your hair is all that great when you are responsible for their food. Tie it up, keep it off your shoulders, and out of the food.
2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. darcknyt
    Sep 05, 2009 @ 11:28:08

    I get freaked when I find my WIFE'S hair in my food, never mind a stranger's. I think it's hysterical how Hollywood pays NO attention, whatsoever, to reality when they try to depict something in a "realistic" way.

    People at grocery stores, restaurants, retail shops … only the sets look real. It's funny as hell.

    But yeah, I agree with you — keep the hair out of the food. Ick.

    Reply

  2. DarcsFalcon
    Sep 05, 2009 @ 21:59:36

    Oh yeah, the hairy servers! Why do so many not get that hair doesn't mix with food service? Makes me want to take the yuck out of my brush and put it on THEIR food to see how they like it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

