Threats & Intimidation

don’t work with me. I’m not intimidated easily and then only by tall people. Okay, they don’t intimidate me as much as freak me out, but I digress. Threats don’t work at all because, really, what are you going to do to me? I’m a waitress. I live in a mobile home. I have lots of cats. If you go by stereotypes, things don’t get much worse than that.

This was the weekend of threats and intimidation. It all started with the party of 4 that I tried to seat at one of my picnic tables. The man protested that he had a bad back and couldn’t possibly sit anywhere other than a booth. Okay, I understand back problems, except there weren’t any booths clean or available. I told him I was going to have to return his party to the front and they would have to wait until a booth became available. He went all crazy eyed on me and shouted, “Should we just leave?”

Photobucket

Not nearly this funny.

People always think food servers are so money hungry that the thought of one group walking out will cause the server to make miracles happen, in this case I would pull a clean, unoccupied booth out of my ass, in order to keep the business. What they don’t realize is we want HAPPY, NON-BITCHING people in our presence. So I told him, “If you want to leave because we don’t have a booth open, I guess that’s up to you, but for now I have to take you back to the front where you can either leave or wait for a booth.”

Dude, look around. We have a full restaurant, people lined up out the door and more putting their names on the list. Do you really think you are that important?

The second battery of threats & intimidation was from a man who was hella pissed because he had to pay for the salad bar. Of all the nerve. Damned restaurants trying to make money by selling food.

He insisted that last year when they came over from Torrington the salad bar came with the meal. I respectfully told him I have worked there for more than 2 years and the salad bar was always an additional cost. Then he said his server told him the wrong price for the salad bar, therefore it should come with the meal. I told him the price for the salad bar was clearly printed on the menu we gave him, which he was free to read. Not even noticing the verbal insult, he said if he didn’t get a free salad bar, he would never be back. Let’s see…you come here once a year and you bitch, harass, threaten and intimidate the staff the whole time you’re here. It’s a risk I’m willing to take. When I didn’t immediatly rush to get him a free salad bar plate, he said that when he left he was going to stand outside and tell everyone coming in that they had to pay $4.29 extra if they wanted the salad bar. Dumbass. That’s our policy. People have to pay for food.

What the hell is wrong with people?! Does the saying, “Don’t be rude, I touch your food” mean nothing to you. No one at the restaurant would tamper with food, but do you want to sit down now or at closing time? Do you want to eat sometime before next year? Do you want us to go into overdrive and charge you for everything we can possibly think of…oh yes I do. One way or another, you will pay for your bad behaviour.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. darcknyt
    Sep 08, 2009 @ 16:15:05

    Wow, you've had a crappy weekend. Here's hoping things get better for you this week.

    Reply

  2. DarcsFalcon
    Sep 08, 2009 @ 21:11:52

    It amazes me that people can SEE there aren't any free tables, yet they somehow expect you to magically pull one out of a hat. Yeah, like THAT'S gonna happen.

    It's never a good idea to be rude or hostile to the people making/serving you your food. Really, that's just stupid. *eyeroll*

    Reply

Leave a Reply

