Trauma in the Restaurant

I swear I need to go to med school just to be a waitress.

In the spring an older gentleman tripped over his foot and when he tried to keep from falling he peeled the skin right off his inner forearm. I thought his band-aid had come undone and I tried to straighten it out for him. Then I noticed the blood everywhere and when I realized it was his WRIST SKIN bunched up around his elbow, the only thing that kept me from screaming was I thought it might scare him. Just a little.

Two people have choked bad enough I had to call the ambulance. One was a HUGE man, well over 6 feet tall and probably 250 pounds. A school sports team was in the restaurant and a little coach wrapped his arms around the big guy and did the Heimlich on him. It helped that the big guy was on his knees, but I was amazed and thankful someone in the restaurant knew what to do.

The other choker was a girl with Down’s Syndrome and her parents knew what to do, but the paramedics still came and checked her out.

Tonight a man had a diabetic seizure. At first I thought he was choking, because I’ve never seen anyone have a seizure, and I asked his wife if he was okay. She said she didn’t know. I asked if he was choking and she said he hadn’t eaten any of his food. I know I screeched, “So what is happening?!” She said she didn’t know so I yelled across the restaurant for the manager to call the ambulance. Being a loud mouth sometimes has it’s advantages.

Right as I yelled for Darren to call, the guy went into a full seizure and we couldn’t keep him in his chair anymore. We got him to the floor and he promptly bit his tongue and started bleeding all over.

That is when I wanted to run shrieking from the building. I AM A WAITRESS! I SERVE FOOD. I DO NOT LIKE IT WHEN YOU TRY TO DIE IN MY SECTION!

Luckily, Antoinette, our busser, is first aid certified and she stepped in and helped a RN assist the guy until the ambulance arrived. Thankfully, it didn’t take them long to get there. They got him on a gurney and did their paramedic magic. He was out of the seizure by the time they left, and he was really disoriented (well duh), but at least he was talking.

It stinks because they seemed like really nice people enjoying their vacation and it certainly isn’t what they wanted to happen when they went out for dinner. I don’t like to see human misery. This is why I’m not a doctor or a nurse and why I am an underachieving waitress. Please let me continue to be an underachiever.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sherri
    Sep 07, 2009 @ 10:25:57

    I worked as a jailor in my little home town for three months. That's all I could do. I hated seeing people at their lowest. Especially since I was in charge of keeping them low. Some folks get a power trip from that, I guess, but I am not one of them.

    I worked in fast food in high school and college, and I NEVER saw that much trauma. You're just lucky.

    Reply

  2. darcknyt
    Sep 07, 2009 @ 11:46:07

    Of all of these, the old man with the rolled back skin would've made me hurl. The others would've caused me flustered frustration and panic, but that skin peeling back? I'd've passed out.

    Reply

  3. DarcsFalcon
    Sep 07, 2009 @ 16:06:29

    Oh my gosh! I feel so bad for all those people, and bad for you too for having to deal with that.

    But perhaps a First Aid course wouldn't be a bad idea? Wow.

    Reply

  4. Holly
    Sep 07, 2009 @ 21:34:45

    I'm not going to lie…the rolled up skin thing was the worst thing I've ever seen. I thought I was going to pass out.

    Reply

  5. Elizabeth Himes
    Sep 08, 2009 @ 06:35:53

    A first aid course never hurt anyone to take. Heck, you have already got the first step down, looking or calling one person to contact an ambulance. Surprisingly if you don't direct the request/order to one specific person, but more of a shout to the group of gawkers, they will just gawk and not make that call. So kudos to you!
    I work in an office all week, but on the weekends I work as a fire fighter and emergency services medic at race car tracks. I was born into it. I love saving lives and all that I do. I don't do it full time because I don't think I could handle all that it requires. But having the knowledge to step up and do what needs to be done until the professionals get there, well, you never know who's life you might help save.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

