The Price Remains the Same

A few nights ago I had this conversation with a gentleman:

Him: “I want the spare ribs and I would like to substitute the salad bar for the side dishes.”

Me: “You can add the salad bar for $4.29, but you can’t substitute it for the sides.”

Him: “I don’t like any of the sides.”

Me: “The price doesn’t change so you may as well order something.”

Him: “Would you like a job at a restaurant in Worland?”

I was so shocked, since usually an argument ensues, that I laughed. I told him Worland was a little far for me to drive and I asked why he would offer. He said his servers couldn’t seem to understand that when someone doesn’t want something, it doesn’t change the price. You don’t want lettuce, tomato, pickles & onion with your burger? Fine, we’ll take $1 off the price. You choose not to have fries with your meal? Okay, we’ll adjust the price.

I don’t have time for that shit. The price is on the menu and on our computers. I am not going to price adjust just because you choose not to eat what comes with the meal.

I find that servers in smaller restaurants price adjust automatically. Yesterday I ordered a supreme pizza from a local restaurant and asked the cook to leave off the beef since I’m allergic to it. As I was paying, she said she knocked off fifty cents because I didn’t have the extra topping. That is wrong. I CHOSE to alter the menu, I should still pay the price.

As far as substituting goes, customers can do whatever they want, but they are going to pay for it. I am in the business to make money for my employer, who in turn, keeps me employed. I am not in the business of giving his food away just to make someone happy.

And complaining about the price isn’t going to change it. Last night some guy complained that he could buy a whole gallon of milk for the price we charge for a glass. I looked him straight in the eye and said, “Then don’t order it.” Seems pretty simple to me. Obviously, it wasn’t the answer he was looking for since his jaw hit the table, but he did order the milk and he stopped bitching about prices.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcsFalcon
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 12:10:25

    Is it my imagination or do people no longer understand the nature of business? Your Worland customer does, and so do you, but the other customers you mention don't seem to have a clue. Businesses are in business to MAKE MONEY. If they don't make money they can't employ people, or pay taxes. Don't they teach that in schools anymore?

    Too bad you couldn't have taken that job, though. Sounds like he would have really appreciated you. 🙂

    Reply

  2. steve
    Sep 11, 2009 @ 19:00:46

    Had to play catch up with some old posts….the one thing I have never understood is why do people think they can automatically be rude to waiters or waitresses. I have seen everywhere and its like folks leave their manners at home…the special board post was really funny…dumasses……..please throw the next person that is rude out of the joint….tell manager i said it was ok………..zman leaves a 10$ tip….

    Reply

  3. Fantasia
    Sep 11, 2009 @ 19:52:18

    Amen!! nuf said.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

