What is Wrong with People?!

I have been in food service for the majority of my life. Sometimes I believe I’ve seen it all, but every now and then something happens that makes me realize there is a lot of human stupidity out there just waiting to happen.

When I worked at the airport cafe there were two separate instances where women, both times Asian, came into the restaurant, moved the glasses and silverware off a table and changed their infant’s diaper right on the table. They then put the glasses and silverware back on the table and left. Holy mother of God! Are you kidding me?! I chalked this up to different cultures doing different things.

A few weeks ago, Callie came into the wait station clearly upset. She said a woman in her section was changing her toddler’s diaper at the table with one hand while she was eating with the other. WTF?! Callie said she never even slowed down on shoveling food in her face as she dropped the kid’s poopy diaper onto the booth seat and wiped its poopy butt (while it was standing up in the booth). Callie said she was so dumbstruck all she could do was stand and stare. The Manager had a different suggestion. There was a lot of cussing involved.

Last night we were cleaning the salad bar and right on top of the bowl of bread pudding was a piece with a bite taken out. Someone had actually stood at the salad bar, taken a bite of the dessert, decided they didn’t like it and put it back. WTF is wrong with people? It makes me wonder what else s/he sampled that wasn’t apparent. Did s/he go through the salad bar like Bluto from Animal House?

If so, I’m pissed. I eat off that salad bar. Fucker.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. darcknyt
    Sep 14, 2009 @ 12:08:57

    Ick. There goes lunch.

    There is no limit to human stupidity. None.

    Reply

  2. DarcsFalcon
    Sep 14, 2009 @ 16:26:26

    You tell the stories, and I know they're true, and there's a part of me that still can't wrap my brain around such behavior.

    Why are people so okay with being so nasty? Changing diapers where/while they eat? Putting half-eaten food back in a salad bar? What is WRONG with people?!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

