Strawberry Shortcake

Since Bob the dishwasher/salad prep guy can’t read a recipe (6 cups of sugar instead of 6 tablespoons or 3 tablespoons of salt instead of 3 teaspoons) The Manager decided to change some menu items for the winter while he is away. One change is the strawberry shortcake. It used to be served on a biscuit with strawberries and whipped cream, now it’s served on pre-baked pound cake. I tried some and I think the pound cake is better.

A few nights ago a woman ordered the strawberry shortcake and when I brought it out she complained that she expected it to be on a biscuit with fresh strawberries. I explained that we had to change the item, but we hadn’t changed the wording on the menu yet. She got all shifty eyed on me and said she wanted fresh strawberries. In Wyoming, fresh strawberries are about as elusive as jackalope…you’ve heard they exist, but you’ve never seen one for yourself.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Both so magically real looking.

When I told her we didn’t have fresh strawberries, she snapped, “I can’t possibly eat this and I’m not going to pay for it.” I thought, ‘Oh yes you can, especially if I hold the back of your head, and one way or another, you will pay for it.” Fact was, she had already eaten half of it and it is an extremely rich dessert, designed to be shared.

NEVER in my life have I eaten half of something, then refused to pay for it. People just can’t stop making my mouth fall open. For the record, she did pay half price for the shortcake and I took the remainder away from her, since I was pretty sure she could find a way to eat the rest of it for free. Dumbass.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcsFalcon
    Sep 18, 2009 @ 00:44:44

    Fresh strawberries, in Sept., in WY? Clearly she was on drugs – and had the munchies.

    These people you serve, sometimes they remind me of how hoity-toity rich people might act if they were in a really upper-crust kind of place, like the Waldorf-Astoria. Or like they're paying $1000 per plate. Wow.

    Reply

  2. Holly
    Sep 18, 2009 @ 08:45:39

    I never thought of it that way, but some of them do act as if they are paying the moon for dinner. Either that or they have a huge sense of entitlement.

    Reply

  3. steve
    Sep 20, 2009 @ 09:21:43

    It cracks me up about the I AM NOT PAYING FOR THIS…especially after they tasted it..like the 1.10 is going to break them or they just decided hmm I dont have to pay and you cant make me…you should make people that say that WASH DISHES on a busy night…zman sends

    Reply

  4. Holly
    Sep 20, 2009 @ 11:31:49

    Some restaurants in town tell people they can sort it out with the police since defrauding an innkeeper is a felony in Wyoming. It's surprising how fast the wallet comes out when faced with an encounter with the cops.

    Reply

  5. darcknyt
    Sep 20, 2009 @ 12:58:40

    Your comment about the police is AWESOME! Sometimes those old laws really come in handy! 😀 I'd SO use that one all the time if I had a restaurant and people tried this sort of thing.

    I'd understand some of this if, like Falcon said, it's a high-end restaurant with exorbitant prices, where you expect to have your butt wiped when you go to the bathroom by a guy in a tux. But at a family restaurant in WY?

    C'mon, people.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

