They’re Killing Me

Labor Day kicked off our fall hours and everyone rejoiced since we now close at 8:00 rather than at 10:00. The good feelings lasted until 8pm on Labor Day when we were still on a wait list and served the last table at 9:00. That isn’t when the last table left, just when they got their food. Every night since then we have been bombarded with people at 7:00 and we have yet to get out of the restaurant before 10:00.

Also, with the fall schedule, everyone’s hours have been cut. Everyone, but mine. Mine doubled. So when we have 8 groups of people wait listed at 7:30 it is me and one other server doing the work of 4 people. They are killing me! I’m too old for this shit.

And since fall brings cooler temperatures (NOT!) the swamp coolers for the dining room have been drained and turned off. It was about 100 degrees in the restaurant last night. I had sweat dripping down my back while I was taking orders. People were complaining about the heat and leaving, which worked out since there weren’t enough servers to wait on them. When I pulled the trash to the dish pit, I thought it was nice that the dishwasher was working in cool, air conditioned comfort while the front of the house and guests were baking.

Don’t get me wrong, the money is great and much appreciated as we move into the lean winter months, but for the love of all that is holy, either restart the coolers or schedule more servers before I stroke out.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. darcknyt
    Sep 16, 2009 @ 15:42:16

    Wow, that SUCKS. Why do they pick on you so much? Hope things get better soon.

    Reply

  2. Holly
    Sep 16, 2009 @ 23:18:18

    They must think I owe them money or something. 🙂

    Reply

  3. DarcsFalcon
    Sep 17, 2009 @ 01:45:47

    On the one hand, not having your hours cut is a good thing. Your bank balance will thank you. At the same time – doubling your hours? With no coolers? Insane! I hope things balance out for you SOON hon.

    Reply

  4. steve
    Sep 17, 2009 @ 07:58:03

    Yeah sort of good news bad news thing huh….well hang in their things will get better…..think of this….you always make me laugh with your posts..and I always leave a tip…..Zman sends and leave a 10$ tip

    Reply

Leave a Reply

