Attitude of Entitlement

Don’t get me wrong, I like everyone I work with. We have a good crew and everyone works hard and gets along, which is really different from other places I’ve worked. However, there are two sisters who have a HUGE attitude of entitlement that is getting a little hard to swallow. They have always worked the day shift, so I rarely saw them, but the last few weeks, they have moved over to nights and they are annoying me.

Cell phones are not permitted at work. This has always been the rule that everyone breaks, including me. Most people are a little discrete about it and check their phones infrequently. These sisters are CONSTANTLY on their phones; texting or talking to friends. Today I was in the wait station with one of the sisters and she whipped her phone out of her purse right in front of The Manager, who had his back turned looking at the salad bar temp chart. I asked, “Really? You really have the balls to do that right in front of him?” She said, “He won’t say anything. I’m his favourite.” Uh…

So a little later I was stocking the wait station and I came around the corner to find her painting her nails. I shouted, “Are you fucking kidding me? You aren’t even supposed to have your nails painted when you are working with food, much less paint them in a food prep area.” She started telling me how the health inspector said it was okay to have painted nails as long as they weren’t chipped and by painting them right before dinner she was making sure they weren’t chipped. Also, according to her, The Manager doesn’t care what she does.

Oh honey. You are so sadly mistaken. The Manager doesn’t care what you do because he doesn’t care ABOUT you. You are leaving soon and he would replace you if you weren’t. But guess what? When you need a job reference or maybe a job next summer, you are going to be shit out of luck or stuck working day shifts where you make $40 in 8 hours. I’ve known so many people who had the same attitude of entitlement and guess what they are doing? Working somewhere else for much less money. Dumbass.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. darcknyt
    Sep 22, 2009 @ 11:19:10

    Long, long time ago, I was a busboy at a restaurant, and there was a lot of this going around. Different servers all thought they were the favorite and didn't have to follow the rules.

    I didn't stay long enough in that line of work to find out how those things shook out, so I'll be watching this scenario pretty close to find out.

    Reply

  2. DarcsFalcon
    Sep 22, 2009 @ 14:29:45

    I'd be thinking, "If I'm the favorite, I want to make sure I stay that way."

    I just don't understand the entitlement mentality. No one asked you to be here! You have to show you're worthy of it, not demand to be catered to! Too many people think they're owed something. Sad.

    Reply

  3. Holly
    Sep 22, 2009 @ 14:55:29

    I feel the same way. In this world you can be easily replaced. You have to work hard to earn the right to be someone's favourite. I don't think these sisters have learned this since they have never had to work for anything.

    Reply

  4. Holly
    Sep 22, 2009 @ 15:11:35

    I know exactly how this will play out. Neither will be hired next summer and neither will know why. I know The Manager doesn't have favourites…he hates all of us equally. 🙂

    Reply

  5. steve
    Sep 22, 2009 @ 16:00:58

    ….Makes me curious why the manager just doesnt put his foot down and say you will not do this or that…..too bad for those people that a sense of entitlement will not help on the unemployment line…hope they go soon and your job becomes a little more enjoyable….zman sends

    Reply

Leave a Reply

