Social Graces

I live in a very small town with very small town attitudes. There are 2 restaurants, the Outlaw and Lucille’s; 1 bar, the Cowboy; and 1 bar/restaurant, the Elkhorn. People who frequent the Elkhorn have a habit of visiting other tables while they are eating or drinking; walking around with their food and/or drinks. It is very hickish.

One night at about closing time, two young men from Meeteetse came to eat at the restaurant. It started out well, they sat at their table, ordered and actually remained seated during the meal. After the meal, however, one of the men who has never been anywhere than Meeteetse, the feed store and maybe Wal-Mart, picked up his beer and started wandering around the restaurant looking for people he might want to visit. Retard. This isn’t the Elkhorn. You don’t walk around a restaurant with a beer. All the servers were asking what was up with the dumbass wandering around the restaurant. I finally had to tell him, “Sit down. You’re embarrassing me.”

But wait. It gets better.

I was standing at the counter bagging silverware when Val, one of the servers, propped the men’s room door open and went in to clean it. I noticed this young man wander, with his beer, into the men’s room. I waited for one of them to come back out, but neither did for about a full minute, then Val came rushing out, her face all red. I continued to bag the silverware with a smirk on my face since I knew what the hick had done. Val rushed over and said, “That guy walked in and dropped his junk out right in front of me and started peeing. He didn’t even give me a chance to get out of there.”

Dude. Really. I don’t care where you’re from, if a woman is cleaning the john, you should wait until she’s finished or out of the room before you start your business. And if the door is propped open, maybe you should think about closing it so the restaurant doesn’t have to know your business.

We have all grown up in a small world, our parent’s would, and then moved out into the big world where things are much different. Have you ever committed a faux pas of astonishing proportions because of how or where you were raised?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. darcknyt
    Sep 24, 2009 @ 13:32:08

    Well, I've committed some faux pas in my life, but I can't say they were necessarily because of where or how I was raised. I can see that presenting an issue though.

    And I really don't know what the problem is with not exposing oneself to a woman cleaning the men's room. I've heard this one a LOT, and it's just … what's the matter with them, anyway?

    Gotta be a secret fetish. It's just too common.

    Reply

  2. DarcsFalcon
    Sep 24, 2009 @ 16:39:26

    I probably have committed faux pas all over the place, I just don't know what they are.

    I can say I've never used a public restroom with the door open though. That's just … eww!

    Reply

  3. steve
    Sep 24, 2009 @ 17:43:49

    Not only is it improper to use the mens room if their is a women cleaning in there ..dont think I could do it…just doesnt seem right…we have women cleaning the head in your bldg and its just understood that you wait until they are finished…love the new setup…its seems like its really you..zman sends

    Reply

  4. Holly
    Sep 24, 2009 @ 19:02:46

    Several years ago a guy kept asking me out and asking me out. He wasn't my type, but I finally gave in and met him at his house before we went out for dinner one night. His bathroom was just off the living room and right before we left, he went in and peed with the door open. I walked outside, got in my car and drove off. Talk about bad manners. He said he was nervous, but come on. Nobody is too nervous to close the door. He never did get a date.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

