I Think I Might Be Mean

Tonight we were talking about people who worked at the restaurant this summer and how we miss some of them. One of the servers mentioned Sherri, who was the salad bar prep. I said that one night I accidently made her cry and I felt bad about it. Danni asked, “Who haven’t you made cry?” Everyone in the waitstation (3 other servers and 1 cashier) all chimed in with “You’ve made me cry” and “I was scared of you the first 3 months I worked with you” or “You didn’t feel bad when you made me cry”.

Holy cow! I don’t mean to make people cry and I don’t yell at them unless they are doing dumb stuff, like painting their nails in the wait station or being lazy asses. And tonight when Danni had a meltdown and started crying because Steph and Jamie took her lettuce I didn’t say, “Suck it up, sissy girl and get your ass back out on the floor.” I went out and attended to her tables while she sobbed in the wait station. Tomorrow I will make fun of her, but tonight I took care of her.

I like the people I work with, but I HATE new people. I see so many people come through the restaurant, some for the summer, and some for just a few days, that I don’t have the patience to be friendly in the beginning. When one Fucking New Girl introduced herself to me last year I told her, “I don’t care to remember your name right now. Tell me your name again in 2 weeks, if you’re still here.” I worked with her for months, until she moved, and I really liked her, but not when she was the FNG. She told me she went home and cried the day she met me since no one had ever told her she was unimportant.

Okay, maybe that was a little mean, but she admitted after working in the restaurant for months and seeing all the employees come and go, she understood my point.

Now if only I could make the same impression on customers. I do know after today there is one less guy who will eat off the salad bar while he is filling his plate. Dumbass.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. steve
    Sep 26, 2009 @ 10:14:42

    Your not mean….your just honest..some of those folks need to suck it up and understand your position a littl more…some folks are JUST TO SENSITIVE..we all know folks like that….zman sends

    Reply

  2. darcknyt
    Sep 26, 2009 @ 18:36:27

    Wow. See, you can't get stuff like this in the corporate world, so reading about it intrigues me no end. I thought this sort of thing was outlawed back in the PC '90s.

    Reply

  3. Holly
    Sep 26, 2009 @ 20:39:14

    Not in food service. I had a friend in the 90s who had only worked in corporate America. She got her first food service job at a coffee house when she was 38. She whined to me every day for the 2 weeks she lasted because there is a different law of the jungle in food service than in the corporate world. She didn't understand the FNG gets shit on until she either quits or moves up.

    Food service: it's where the bullies are.

    Reply

  4. DarcsFalcon
    Sep 27, 2009 @ 00:24:28

    You remind me of Capt. Sig from "The Deadliest Catch." He refuses to shake the hands of the greenhorns unless they finish out the season to his satisfaction.

    And you know, sometimes it might be a good thing for certain people to hear once in a while that the universe doesn't revolve around them. With "self-esteem" being such a major issue, lots of kids aren't learning how to cope with disappointments in life.

    Reply

  5. Holly
    Sep 27, 2009 @ 10:05:57

    Most of the new hires are young girls who have no idea how to work. They think they deserve a pat on the back for showing up and breathing. While they are preening in any reflective surface, I see them as money out of my pocket…they get the tips, but don't do any of the extra stuff that goes along with serving customers. Once they start pulling their weight, I start being nice.

    I remind myself more of Dr. Bailey on Grey's Anatomy. Her nickname is The Nazi, and by God, you'll do it right.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

