The Mouth Talker

Thanks to Seinfeld, we all know what a “close talker” is.

I had something a little different the other night. A guy and his wife came in with another couple and while I was seating them, the guy got really close to me and tried to whisper something about a gift certificate. Except he wasn’t trying to whisper it in my ear, he was trying to whisper it in my MOUTH.

I admit I only took basic anatomy in school, but I think people hear with their EARS. I don’t remember ever learning about listening devices in my mouth. I know about lip reading, but I don’t think my tonsils are very good at it.

I did pretty much the same thing Kramer did in the video clip and told the guy I would get a manager to take care of it. Then I ran like hell.

Dude. Personal space. Observe it.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. darcknyt
    Oct 01, 2009 @ 12:24:13

    I've met more people than I care to count who have no concept of personal space and how to observe it. I feel for you in this situation; it's NASTY.

    Now add in halitosis, and you've got a REAL winning blend.

    Reply

  2. DarcsFalcon
    Oct 01, 2009 @ 15:42:30

    That just reeks of ewwww.

    Reply

  3. Holly
    Oct 01, 2009 @ 16:04:36

    People get too close often in the restaurant and I've learned to deal with it, but this guy was just too much.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

