Winter is Here

I didn’t go to work today. We are having a severe winter storm and the road between Meeteetse and Cody is one big sheet of ice. I drove about 11 miles before I came upon a big truck jack knifed across the road. I said screw it, called work and told them I wasn’t coming in.

Winter driving
Me, trying to drive.
So now I’m snug in my house after digging and burrowing in the wood pile to scrounge up enough wood for the night.  I plan to spend the extra day off reading, watching instant movies on Netflix and being lazy.  Well, there is the occasional cussing when I look out the window.
This really stinks.  Contrary to how it appears, I do like my job and I hate to miss days I’m scheduled.  Not only am I losing money, but I don’t get to see my peeps.  I don’t get to catch up with them and see what they’ve been up to.  We don’t get to tell jokes or gossip or rat each other out.  This is the only place I’ve ever worked where all the women actually like each other and get along and where we are friends outside of work as well.
Hopefully this storm passes soon, but according to the forecast I saw, today was supposed to be sunny and clear.  So much for predicting the weather.
3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcsFalcon
    Oct 09, 2009 @ 16:58:07

    Weatherman FAIL, huh? I hate when that happens, and it happens more often than they are right.

    Sorry you missed your "peep time." Hopefully you'll get to make up for it soon.

    And drive safely!

    Reply

  2. steve
    Oct 10, 2009 @ 08:43:57

    Hope the weather clears so you can get back to it…its 75 deg here in the mid atlantic thought that might cheer you up….good day to go to the park and play outside and barbeque and have a picnic…its nice and sunny and warm and comfortable…..actually its ok for sunbathing and cycling…oh wait sorry bout that got carried away…zman sends

    Reply

  3. Holly
    Oct 10, 2009 @ 21:32:53

    Right now it is 16 degrees. We are in for one long, hard winter.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

