Winter Wonderland My Ass

I wrote two posts and hated both of them.  So I amused myself by feeding the dogs peanut butter while I pondered my writing.

The cold weather has me down.  

What you see.
What I see.

There is so much worry associated with winter.  I worry about pipes freezing, heater working, cannibalism, driving on snow and ice, higher bills, less money, cars functioning, ducks dying, and most of all, will it ever end?!  Typically, we have several days of cold followed by several days of less cold.  I thought my thermometer was stuck on 16 degrees, but I see it is now at 12 degrees.  At least I know it’s working.

It’s hard to be productive when every instinct is to huddle up and conserve energy.  I look around and everything is conserving:  the dogs, cats and ducks sleep more; fewer people are out; the trees did a massive dump of their leaves, and even the bunnies aren’t playing Chicken in oncoming traffic.  Just as well, they usually lose.

With fewer people out, I have fewer stories to tell.  Most of the tourists are gone, but the local people are starting to filter back in.  We all have a love/hate relationship with the locals.  They know they are our winter bread and butter so they treat us like crap, run our asses off and cheap on the tip.  Work starts to be a lot less fun and pretty soon things start looking like scenes from “The Shining.”

I hope the weather breaks before I do.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. darcknyt
    Oct 12, 2009 @ 11:22:14

    Wow, I can't believe how deep in winter you guys are already. Amazing. Our temps are dropping too, but nothing like that. Twelve degrees?! WTF?!

    Good luck!

    Reply

  2. Holly
    Oct 12, 2009 @ 12:38:58

    It is insane. It seems that all I do is fuss with the wood stove and drag wood in the house. In years past I was taking the dogs to the lake until around Halloween.

    It's sunny today and I hope all this snow melts off and it stays warm until at least December.

    Reply

  3. DarcsFalcon
    Oct 12, 2009 @ 16:43:34

    On my gosh, that's exactly how I feel too!

    This "originally from CA" girl still thinks snow is some form of evil, brought on by original sin in the Garden of Eden. I never even saw snow until I was in my teens, and my feelings about it haven't changed at all. *shudder and shiver*

    Reply

  4. Delaney
    Oct 13, 2009 @ 10:31:03

    I'm also originally from CA and had enough of a time adjusting to KS winters so I can't imagine the type you have. Goodness!

    Reply

  5. steve
    Oct 13, 2009 @ 12:36:05

    On the upside it is 65 degs here in the mid atlantic….dont people eat more pie in the winter…I know i am reaching…just think when it thaws 6 mos from now..you will miss the snow…….zman sends

    Reply

  6. Holly
    Oct 13, 2009 @ 19:56:55

    Good point zman…people do eat more in winter.

    All things considered I would rather it be cold than hot, but I'm amazed at how early winter started and how much snow we got. I still have fall winterizing projects I need to do and we skipped fall.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

