Who’s that Knocking at My Door?

My daughter works the front desk at a nice hotel in southern Wyoming.  She covers the night shift so she sees some pretty strange and funny stuff, which she relates to me.  I have been laughing about her latest story for two days so I’m going to share it.  Names have been left out to protect…well…me.  

Over the weekend a very inebriated man and his lady friend arrived at the hotel at around 2am.  They asked my daughter for the phone number for a pizza delivery chain, which she wrote on a piece of paper before sending them to their room.

Ten minutes later the man called the front desk and asked for the phone number again. 

Roughly 30 minutes after that, the pizza delivery guy arrived at the front desk, and she sent him to the man’s room. 

Five minutes passed before the delivery guy came back to the front desk, very irate.  He said he knocked on the door but they were “too busy” to answer.  He said, “Fuck this shit!” went outside, threw their pizza in the snow, got in his truck and drove away.

Thirty minutes later, the  drunk man came to the front desk and asked if their pizza had arrived.  Deadpan, my daughter told him, “Yeah, but you didn’t answer the door so the driver threw your pizza in the snow.  I would complain.”  The drunk guy just stared at her. 

I imagine, drunk or sober, when your pizza ends up in the snow there is some staring involved.

I find this so amusing because as a food service worker, there are many times when I wish I could throw someone’s pizza in the snow.  Metaphorically speaking.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. darcknyt
    Oct 13, 2009 @ 22:20:51

    I actually threw a pizza in the guy's face who made it when I first moved here. It wasn't a pleasant exchange and people here aren't pleasant at all. I'm not pleasant either, and it was a bad combination.

    I never went back.

    Reply

  2. Holly
    Oct 13, 2009 @ 22:27:59

    Hahaha! I would have never guess that about you.

    Reply

  3. DarcsFalcon
    Oct 14, 2009 @ 00:55:14

    You know, that sounds like a lot of fun. 🙂 I'd have given him extra points if he'd driven over it in his truck too. 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

