“She Makes Too Much Money.”

A few nights ago we were a little busy and I got behind on cleaning tables.  I had three dirty tables, pre-bussed, but not completely cleaned, and one table with guests right in the middle of it all.  They had their drinks, and were waiting for their food so I made use of my time to get the other tables cleaned.

Have you ever suddenly realized someone was talking about you?  There’s all this background noise when suddenly your brain filters out everything until it’s like you can hear people talking in your head.  Please say you know the feeling or I’m going to think I’m schizophrenic.

Anyway, I became aware that the three guests were talking about me.  Specifically, they were talking about how much money I make since they could see my tips on the tables.

One woman said, “Can you believe how much money she must make?  It’s crazy.  She probably makes seven or eight dollars an hour plus her tips.”

The man replied, “She makes more than I do and probably only has a high school education.”

The other woman threw in her two cents with, “If she even graduated.  I’m not tipping her.  She obviously doesn’t need my money.”

I wanted to shout, “I CAN HEAR YOU!  I MIGHT BE STUPID, BUT I’M NOT DEAF!”  Instead, I acted as if nothing happened, continued to serve them well, and yep…they stiffed me.

The most amusing error in their logic was that they were talking loud enough for me to hear them, yet they hadn’t received their food.  Who’s the dummy now?

Here are 4 more errors in their logic:

1.  I’m sure their doctor (dentist/lawyer/mechanic/hairdresser) makes more money than they do, but do they refuse to pay based on income?  I make good money because I’m good at what I do.  I am providing a service, if you don’t want to pay for it, you should eat at McDonald’s.

2.  Not all servers are high school drop-outs.  Almost all of the servers at the restaurant either have or are working towards a 4 year degree.  That sort of stereotyping makes you look like an idiot.

3.  If you’re pissed because a server makes more money than you do, maybe you should get a better job. 

4.  Being a successful server is not easy.  It requires public relations (making the customer happy), advertising (selling the product), and psychology (“reading” the mood of a table in seconds) skills.  Nursing (choking, seizures), and janitorial (customers barfing) skills also come in handy.  But most of all, successful servers have confidence and the ability to let bullshit run off them like water off a duck’s back.  Or they have the good meds which keep them from choking the living shit out of annoying douche bags.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. darcknyt
    Oct 15, 2009 @ 22:15:26

    Wow! You absolutely see them ALL, don't you? My GOD, how CLASSLESS is that?!

    I'm embarrassed on their behalf. And I have no idea about the feeling you describe, whatsoever.

    Reply

  2. DarcsFalcon
    Oct 15, 2009 @ 23:30:41

    Maybe they should quit whatever jobs they have and then try to live on $7 or 8 an hour too. Who knows, maybe your boss will hire them, and then you can train them.

    Oh, and I know exactly what you're talking about – you're not schizophrenic.

    Reply

  3. Holly
    Oct 16, 2009 @ 09:02:19

    Darc: I know you think I'm making this up…I mean, how can these people exist, right? However, when I read other server's horror stories, mine are very tame.

    So you just haven't come to terms with the voices in your head, huh?

    Reply

  4. steve
    Oct 17, 2009 @ 13:39:47

    Dont know how much you make but from the sounds of it. they should give you a THESE PEOPLE ARE RUDE TO ME raise….and 30 percent tips should be mandatory…zman sends

    Reply

Leave a Reply

