Rage On

Last week I had a meltdown about our local customers and I decided I would take a week off and reflect on the phrase, “If you can’t say something nice, don’t say anything at all.”  I’m still not certain I have nice things to say about our locals, but I don’t feel quite so raged out right now.

Tonight a local man came into the restaurant to pick up an order to go.  Kayla was away from the register so I cashed him out.  He said, “I am so happy to see that the tourists are gone and this place is empty.  Now the locals can get back in here.”

Uh…hello.  How do you think we pay our bills?  It certainly isn’t with an empty restaurant.  Feeling a little querulous I stated something to that effect.  He said, “Well, if you would start serving breakfast again…”

I said, “Again, the locals didn’t support us, we couldn’t pay our bills, so we shut down breakfast.” 

At least once a week I have a group of local people bitch to me that they came out for breakfast “last weekend” and were very disappointed that we are no longer open for breakfast.  We stopped serving breakfast a year ago in August.  The complaint always ends with, “we ate here all the time.”  Apparently not.  If it takes you a year and a few months to notice we are no longer serving a meal, you weren’t supporting us.

People!  If you want a business to stay open, you have to patronize it and tell your friends about it.  You can’t show up once a year and expect it to stay open.  And when it closes, don’t complain unless you did everything you could to keep it open.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. darcknyt
    Oct 27, 2009 @ 05:31:57

    This kind of stuff cracks me up too. People with their "we ate there all the time!" and "we loved that place!" after a restaurant shuts down.

    Their hearts may have been in the right place; their wallets weren't though. 🙂

    Reply

  2. steve
    Oct 27, 2009 @ 11:48:07

    Living here in a tourist town that is so true about how places survive in the down months…..i think folks believe its not their responsibility to take care of their city and its establishments…..screw um then ..lets them take the 50 mile drive to dennys for the blue hair special..zman sends

    Reply

  3. DarcsFalcon
    Oct 27, 2009 @ 15:12:57

    Reminds me of the people here who had hissy fits when Macy's bought Marshall Fields and changed the name. Oh my gosh, the outrage! I always wanted to tell them, "Idiots, if you'd patronized Field's in the 1st place, Macy's wouldn't be buying them out!"

    Reply

  4. Holly
    Oct 28, 2009 @ 15:40:06

    I try hard to patronize our local businesses. If they close, I have to drive a long, long ways to buy what I want or I have to pay shipping to have it delivered. I would say 95% of my money goes back to the local economy…all five dollars of it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

