“Can We All Get Along?”

Apparently not.

I worked at the Outlaw tonight and had to break up not one, but two bar fights.  Assholes.

It started when Crockett came in to buy a bottle of whiskey.  Ron insisted that he apologize to Vick for insulting him a YEAR ago.  During the apology, Les decided to take a swing at Crockett.  There wasn’t much of a fight since Les nearly fell down while he was swinging, but still.  So I pulled Les back and Sharron, the owner’s wife, told Crockett to leave, which he did.  The next half hour was spent with everybody swinging their dicks around talking about how brave they were and blah, blah, blah.

Sharron and I went back to the kitchen and were engaged in mild gossip when a woman ran into the kitchen and yelled, “Crockett’s brother is here and he’s fighting with Ron!”  My first thought was Crockett’s brother doesn’t have the ambition to get out of bed let alone muster up the necessary energy for a fight so WTF?!.  Sharron and I ran back to the bar in time to see two guys beating the crap out of each other.  One guy was bleeding and it took me a minute to recognize him as Nathan, my friend’s nephew, instead of Crockett’s lazy-assed brother.

I got between Nathan and Ron and got them to stop punching each other.  I talked Nathan down and got him out the door to take him home.  As I was walking out the door, Ron shoved me from behind and tried to hit Nathan again.  I turned around and shoved Ron about three feet back then Les yanked my arm.  I stuck my finger in their faces and came UNDONE on both of them for touching me.  I can go from sane to batshit crazy in less than a second.

They continued to argue with me about how they wanted to fight Nathan in the parking lot so I whipped out the best weapon I have:  my cell phone.  “Who wants to go to jail?”  Suddenly the fight was out of everybody.  I walked Nathan home, called his aunt, went to the Wea Market, bought a candy bar, went back to the Outlaw and sat by myself while shoveling a Twin Bing in my face.  Fuckers.  Ruining my night.

The owner’s son, Will, was in the bar by then.  Everybody was really thankful that I jumped in and broke up both fights (this is not the first time I’ve been a bouncer there), but I thought the whole incident was just shameful.

Fighting while only women are around, and over something that happened  a year ago is childish, disrespectful, rude, and inconsiderate.  Dragging Will out of bed to break up petty bickering is selfish.  Jim, the owner, is out of town and not one of those asshole would have started a fight if he were here. This is a very small community and we all need each other sooner or later.  Grow up and get over it.

If I owned that bar every one of them would be kicked out for a week.  Will wanted to hear everyone’s side of the story and make a “fair” judgement. FAIR? I’ll tell you what’s fair: all of them sitting outside, looking in. Everyone involved in the fighting is a member of the Cowboy Club and we all signed a promise that “While in the Cowboy Bar, I pledge to honor its code of conduct to never raise my voice or hand in anger and to respect its employees and my fellow customers.”  Les, Ron, and Nathan did not abide by that pledge and showed an amazing amount of disrespect for Jim, Sharron, Will, Roxanne, and me.  They owe everyone an apology.  And maybe some slave labour.  Assholes.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. darcknyt
    Oct 29, 2009 @ 07:14:16

    Maybe in a year you'll get your apology?

    Boy, that sounds like way more excitement than I'd be interested in. I don't know the cast of characters you've listed here, but "Cowboy Bar" certainly sounds like an apropos name. A saloon in the old west is just how this one reads.

    Reply

  2. DarcsFalcon
    Oct 29, 2009 @ 15:23:10

    If they signed some kind of pledge, then I'd whip that out and shove it in their faces as a reminder, and like you said, ban them for at least a week. That kind of behavior is unacceptable. Sheesh!

    Thanks for reminding me never to piss you off. šŸ˜‰

    Reply

  3. Holly
    Oct 29, 2009 @ 15:50:13

    Yes, this is an old west saloon, pockmarked with bullet holes. Typically everyone gets along, but every once in awhile…

    Nathan & Crockett will apoligize and soon. Those other two will continue to fester and always believe they were right.

    Reply

  4. Holly
    Oct 29, 2009 @ 16:02:13

    HAHA! Falcon. I do have a little bit of a temper, but really I'm a lover not a fighter.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

