The Great Whipped Cream Incident

Years ago when I started working at the restaurant, I was fussing with the lid on the whipped cream canister.  The Manager showed me how to tap it on the counter which would break the seal and then the lid comes right off.  I have been opening whipped cream like this for more than two years now and I have showed all the other servers how to do it.

About a week ago we got a new type of whipped cream and when we tap the lid on the counter it breaks the stem inside.  Abbey broke one, Amanda broke two and I cracked one.  Before I went on my days off Darren and I messed around with the broken stem and figured out how to make it work so the three cans wouldn’t be wasted.  No problem, right?

I came back from my days off to find my name written on one of the cans with instructions for ME to use it first.  WTF?!  My co-workers told me the dumbass new hire did and said she refused to use it because she wasn’t making extra work for herself on something I ruined.  Again WTF?!  And more importantly, who the fuck does she think she is?!

It used to be that servers would do what they considered their share of the work and go home leaving someone (me) to do what was left, which was usually more than one person’s share.  I got tired of that noise in a big hurry and started to weed out people who weren’t pulling their weight.  Now we all have a philosophy of teamwork.  We help and support each other.  It isn’t everyone for themselves.  If one person is lagging, we all pitch in and give a hand.   We don’t back-stab and cut each other’s throat; we cover each other ass and genuinely like one another.  If someone has a beef, they are free to voice it, it gets fixed and we move on.  This has made our restaurant one of the nicest places to work and it is why people stay for years rather than weeks.

What the dumbass doesn’t realize is this “me” attitude has already caused the other servers to shut her out.  No one helps her carry her food.  No one helps her clean a table.  The servers are all making mental notes every time she refuses to do extra sidework because she “only makes $2.50 an hour” and they are keeping track of every mistake she makes.  This is one of the reasons why I was so against rehiring her.  I knew she wouldn’t fit in and would create discord.  Soon she will be pressured to quit and all because she had the audacity to write my name on a can of whipped cream and try to boss me around.  Dumbass.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. darcknyt
    Oct 29, 2009 @ 22:05:17

    She needs to learn what goes around comes around. This is a big lesson we're supposed to learn in kindergarten, but hey … πŸ™‚

    Reply

  2. DarcsFalcon
    Oct 29, 2009 @ 22:33:54

    Extra work on herself? Uh, yeah, she's in for a rude awakening.

    I almost wish I could be there to see it. πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

