I Didn’t do It

The dumbass new hire was crying on Tuesday when I left for my days off and I didn’t do it.

I only work with her on Mondays and Tuesdays and I figured I could probably keep my mouth shut for two measly days.  It’s a large restaurant, I don’t have to be in the same space as her, I can find things to do, and as long as she doesn’t provoke me, I can avoid her.  Everybody needs a job, right?  Right.

When I got to work at 3 on Monday I immediately set about deck scrubbing the dining room.  We have painted concrete floors that are easy to care for, but need to be deck scrubbed about twice a month.  I enjoy deck scrubbing and mopping.  I find it very relaxing and it looks like such hard work that no one wants to come around for fear they will be asked to take over. 

By the time I was finished with the dining room, Amanda was there for her shift, we were busy and I had successfully avoided the dumbass.  Yea for me.

Tuesday she and I worked together until 3 when she left for break.  I said exactly one word to her in four hours in response to her query if I wanted her to do anything else before she left.  The word was “Nope.”  As in, I just want you gone.

She and Dani came in at 5 and since we were slow I asked Darren if I could leave at 6.  Dani said, “Don’t go, I don’t want to be left alone with her.”  The “her” in question was standing on the other side of Dani.  Oops. 

Soon Darren was calling for the dumbass because she didn’t hang a ticket.  He asked me where she was.  I said, “I think she’s crying in the restroom.”  Sure enough, she came out of the restroom a few minutes later, all red-eyed and sniveling.  I didn’t do it. 

Okay, I ignored her all day, but she has to know I don’t like her.  I operate under the Thumper philosophy:  If you can’t say something nice, don’t say anything at all.  I mean if she asks, “Where’s the salt?”  I’m not going to yell, “Bitch, I hate your guts!”  I’ll answer any questions dealing with work since we are there to work, but as I tell my dogs when they are bad, “We’re not be friends.”

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. darcknyt
    Nov 13, 2009 @ 00:31:33

    I've tried three times to leave this comment, but your blog hates me. If this one doesn't go through, I'm going to give up. 😦

    You have much to be proud of, not being the rain-bringer this time. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Holly
    Nov 13, 2009 @ 00:38:10

    I'm sorry my blog hates everyone. I created a wordpress blog with the same name and I've been planning to move it, but I haven't had the time.

    Reply

  3. DarcsFalcon
    Nov 13, 2009 @ 01:28:12

    You created a WP blog? AWESOME! *does the Snoopy happy dance* I'm going to go add it to my Reader right now.

    Reply

  4. steve
    Nov 13, 2009 @ 06:45:39

    Strange Bird post – That is so creepy..I couldnt do it..i would have to call the police just on the way they look…

    Rude Post – I dont get why folks dont tip..if the shoe was on the other foot..the rude folks would have demanded you tip..ah screw um

    I Didnt do it post – I know you didnt do it…THIS TIME…..sounds like some of these people need to man up (so to speak)…..zman sends and leaves a *50 dollar tip*

    Reply

  5. DarcsFalcon
    Nov 13, 2009 @ 22:52:00

    I think "Bitch, I hate your guts" would be a great response to "Where's the salt."

    LOLOL Just kidding!

    Now she has to know there are at least 2 people she works with who don't care for her – you'd think she'd get a clue and straighten up.

    I don’t think she’s smart enough to figure it out. I’ve heard her crying in the bar because her life sucks. At some point she should take stock of her attitude and lifestyle and make some changes, but it’s probably easier to wallow in self pity.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

