I Thought Slavery Was Outlawed

We were so slow today at the restaurant. I spent most of the day with my head on a counter in the wait station. Then I did a big no-no…I started working a crossword puzzle. People have been fired for that (skipping work to get drunk is fine, but you damned well better not try to improve your vocabulary).

Not long after I started the puzzle, we got busy; flashbacks of summer busy. I never did finish the crossword, but at least I made some money.

In the course of my life, I have worked where I earned anywhere from $8-$15 an hour. Any time there was free time at one of these jobs, it was acceptable to surf the internet, read, watch TV, knit, or play games on the computer.

Food service is the only job I’ve ever had where you make $2-$3 an hour and you are expected to work the entire time you are there. The saying is, “If you have time to lean, you have time to clean.” I have pride in where I work, but for crying out loud, I am NOT cleaning 3-4 hours a day for $2.50 an hour. Send my ass home.

Slave labour, that’s all we are.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcsFalcon
    Nov 21, 2009 @ 00:17:28

    Oh my word. I once had a manager who said that all. the. freaking. time. We all hated her.

    I feel your pain. I do.

    HAHA! I won’t clean anything for days and then all of a sudden, like a whirlwind, I clean everything in sight. They get more than their money’s worth with me and they know it.

    Reply

  2. DarcKnyt
    Nov 21, 2009 @ 11:01:06

    It really is stupid. I have no idea why food service companies think the employee is stealing if they’re not in constant motion doing something. Gimme a f**king break. Sitting down and having a chat with friends is acceptable in MUCH larger corporations who have MUCH higher operating costs. Give it a rest already, for God’s sake.

    It’s moronic. And it’s not like those employees get fantastic benefits or anything either.

    No lie. The company pays me jack, I make my money from customers. One day they wanted me to do some asinine cleaning that involved me crawling on the filthy floor and I refused. I am NOT going to wait on people looking and smelling like a homeless person.

    Reply

  3. Sherri
    Nov 29, 2009 @ 14:27:04

    I’ve never had a job where it was acceptable to do nothing, slow or not. Retail, fast food, Wrangler factory…all places you have to work your butt off constantly. Of course, my wage was set whether we were busy or not, so I didn’t mind.

    Wrangler factory? I thought they came from the cowboy store.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

