Glory, the Fun Stopper

Four men, about my age, came to the restaurant tonight, not long before closing time.  I was on the other side of the restaurant, diagonally from the door and when Kir seated them I heard one of them announce, “I like her!” referencing Kir as if she were available for selection.  Another boomed his dirty old man appreciation for Jamie.  Clear across the restaurant I could hear this shit.

This sort of behaviour pisses me off to no end.  Jamie and Kir are young girls at their place of employment to earn a living, not to be sexually harassed or oogled like slabs of meat.  It is disrespectful, rude and shows an amazing lack of manners. 

And what is with some men who think they are so freaking amazing that a young, attractive girl like Jamie would give them the time of day?  Ever heard the phrase “out of your league’?  Yes, it applies to you.

Kir seated them in my section since Jamie looked like she was going to cry.  I had a complete meltdown in the waitstation about disgusting old men before I went to their table.  Once I got there I heaved a gigantic sigh and stared at all of them for about 15 seconds. 

HAHA! WOW!  You want to talk about an attitude adjustment.  It was as if their mothers caught them masturbating.  My obvious displeasure embarrassed the hell out of them, which made them respectful and courteous.  They apologized to both Jamie and Kir, were on their best behaviour throughout dinner, neatly stacked their dishes when they were finished, and tipped me 22 percent.

All of that with just a look.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcKnyt
    Nov 30, 2009 @ 05:42:14

    Well! Now that’s progress! HAHA!

    Reply

  2. Sherri
    Nov 30, 2009 @ 06:36:55

    I need you to teach me that look.

    I mastered it with my kids. It’s the “I Thought You Were Smarter (Well Behaved, Raised Better) But Now I’m So Disappointed I Might Put You Up For Adoption” look. It works on everyone since we’ve all seen it.

    Reply

  3. DarcsFalcon
    Nov 30, 2009 @ 13:22:23

    Hahahahaha! Oh how I wish I could have been there to see that! That sounds awesome! LOLOL

    Reply

Leave a Reply

