Multi-tasking

Kir, the cashier, is leaving in a couple of weeks and management has decided not to replace her.  The plan is that since we aren’t busy, the servers can also be the cashier.

I voiced my opinion that all management is going to get out of this is a bunch of resentful servers who are barely making ends meet and now are asked to do more for less money.  Everyone, including me, will ignore the register and only seat themselves because they are “too busy.”  

I offered to be the cashier two nights a week, at the wage I get when I’m not a server, which would take me off the floor and allow the other servers to make some money.  Obviously, I was misunderstood since the plan came back that I would wait tables and cashier for $2.50/hr plus tips.

We all know I’m the worst server on the planet.  This means that while I’m doing someone else’s job, my tables are getting less than the crappy service I usually give and are therefore going to tip less.  Not to mention if I’m taking food out or taking an order, and people have to wait to be seated or cashed out, they are going to complain.  In no time at all I can have everyone in the restaurant bitching about me.  Just what I had in mind; more work for less money.  And once the complaints start rolling in, I will be fired because no good deed goes unpunished.

So no, I’m not doing this.  There are many other servers who are much more qualified than I am to multi-task for less than minimum wage.  Or hire another cashier and pay her what I asked you to pay me.  Don’t care.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcKnyt
    Dec 04, 2009 @ 01:00:49

    Do you get the option of saying “Nope, thanks but no thanks, this isn’t going to work out”? That’d be great, because this is a disaster waiting to happen.

    I guess they decided to go with my plan for Friday & Sunday nights. No one can agree on what’s happening Wednesday & Thursday nights, but I don’t work those nights so I don’t care.

    Reply

  2. DarcsFalcon
    Dec 04, 2009 @ 01:52:37

    I can’t believe they didn’t go for your plan – it sounds like it would be a win-win.

    They did for 2 nights a week. Yipee!

    What they suggest is, frankly, stupid. And customers are going to get mad when they stand there waiting and no one is free to seat them. Then they will leave and go to Denny’s.

    I think we’ve already established that really smart people don’t work there. o_O

    Reply

Leave a Reply

