Germ Free

Today, as I was pouring water for a fussy young lady and her man, the lady requested a disposable cup. I must have given her my patented dumb look because she explained, “Disposable cups are less germy.”

That made perfect sense to me so I went back to the waitstation and poured her a disposable cup of water from the carafe that goes through the dishwasher with the rest of our germy glasses.

She ordered a cup of chili, served in one of our germy bowls, which she ate with possibly the filthiest thing in any restaurant…silverware (you don’t even want to know). She also ordered a beef sandwich and fries served on a germy plate.

But she left happy because she didn’t drink water out of a germy glass.

FYI: I DO NOT use hand sanitizer (I think it’s creepy), I’m up to my elbows in other people’s germs every day and I eat/drink from the restaurant’s germy plates/glasses. Guess what? I’M NEVER SICK.

Other servers who religiously use the hand sanitizer and hand wash the plates and glasses before they use them are sick at least 4 times a year.

Embrace germs! They are your creepy little friends.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcKnyt
    Dec 09, 2009 @ 01:12:34

    Yes, they are. And most of the skin cancer we’ve heard so much about over the last 15 or 20 years hits people using SUN BLOCK. Back in my day and my parents’s day, people used suntan oil, just to make the bake even. We sat out for hours in the strong California sun. We didn’t.get.skin.cancer.

    Back in the day people realized there was a limit to how much sun exposure they could have. Now with sun block they can stay out all day soaked in chemicals that are questionable.

    Yeah, let’s have some respect for germs. They might be making those whom they don’t kill stronger. 🙂

    Everyone asks if I’m going to get the H1N1 vaccine. Nope, there isn’t enough testing on it and I don’t want a third eye.

    Reply

  2. DarcsFalcon
    Dec 09, 2009 @ 14:56:32

    Germs are our friends!

    Seriously. How do they think vaccines came to be? How do they think they build up immunities? I’m not suggesting that anyone roll around in raw sewage or anything like that, but it is time to stop being so paranoid. And it’s been proven that those anti-bacterial soaps and stuff don’t work any better than regular ordinary soap. It’s all a scam.

    All the hand sanitizer does is make you smell like you’ve been nipping on vodka. My customers don’t need to think I’m drunk.

    No H1N1 shots for us either.

    Reply

  3. DarcsFalcon
    Dec 09, 2009 @ 15:01:20

    Hey! You should put the snow on your blog! Go to your dashboard, then appearances, then extras. It would fit really well with your Christmas trees!

    Uh…no. It has been 20 below zero here for the last 4 days and snowing off and on. I don’t need any reminders that it is winter. Thanks anyway. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Kathryn
    Jan 05, 2011 @ 05:07:41

    to be honest, i think hand sanitizer is creepy too. and i live in jersey 😛 everyone uses it.
    the only place that kind of ‘idea’ works well is two places (that i know of) 😛
    -a pet store, like petsmart or petco. that have ‘oops’ stations (love it) in case your dog (or other pet) has an accident. and there are is some kind of sanitizer there.
    -target has wipes for shopping cart handles. personally, i don’t care and i don’t use the wipes (i NEED germs for an immune system!) but still it’s using the idea well.

    just stumbled across your blog from ‘fuck my table’ (which i found from ‘cranky waitress’) and i love it! was a server for years loved it and hated it 😛

    Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment!

    I use the wipes on the shopping carts more for the sticky than the germs. I’m elbow deep in germs all day so a few more aren’t going to hurt. However, if my hands are sticky, I will wig out.

    Reply

  5. Katy
    Apr 26, 2011 @ 08:09:12

    That stuff stinks and I don’t use it either. It’s called an immune system, people. And I totally agree, the people I see loading up on hand sanitizer and who lysol every surface of their house (oh no! what about the germs you missed in the toilet bowl?!) and take antibiotics at least twice a year are sick ALL THE DAMN TIME. I don’t do any of that and I’m very rarely sick. Once every few years I get a nasty death virus where my temp goes up to like 104 and I pass out head first into the bathtub… but that’s another story.

    Oh yeah, when I do get sick (every 3-4 years) I come close to dying. Germs are a necessary part of our lives.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

