Wednesday’s Wag

I have one dog who I consider above average intelligence. I have one dog who I believe has average intelligence. I have one dog who has puppy intelligence, meaning she does dumb stuff like run into walls, but she’s not dumb. I have one dog who is dumber than a post.

So imagine my surprise a few days ago while I was standing by the wood stove warming up and I smelled something burning. Hair, specifically. I gave the air a couple of good hard sniffs to make sure I was really smelling burning hair.

Yep. Hair. Burning.

So I looked down to see if an ember had fallen out of the stove. No, nothing burning on the floor.

I looked down at Otis, the really smart dog, only to realize he was on fire. He has a spot of burned hair on his shoulder about six inches long and about 3 inches wide. Pictures don’t do it justice.

Yesterday I was sitting by the wood stove petting Sienna, the other “smart” dog and she has a huge patch of singed hair on her shoulder as well.

Interestingly enough, neither of the dumb dogs have singed hair. Maybe I need to reevaluate my canine intelligence theory.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcsFalcon (Vanessa)
    Dec 16, 2009 @ 16:46:43

    LOL Your poor puppehs! They must be really chilly if they’re hitching up so close to the stove to get burned like that! Would they wear those doggie jackets? HAHA! Sienna came with doggie clothes, which she loves to wear, but if I try to put them on Otis he goes all limp and falls on the floor. Once the clothes are on he runs and hides under something. I think they are less cold and more insistent on being thisclosetome.

    I hope they get better quickly.

    Reply

  2. DarcKnyt
    Dec 16, 2009 @ 19:47:44

    Huh. Who’da thunk it? The smart dogs aren’t smart enough to get out of the way of fire.

    Do the “dumber” dogs have shorter hair? Maybe the smarter ones didn’t realize they were on fire?

    Otis, Maggie & Halo all have the same coat length & thickness. Sienna has a very short coat.

    I’m reaching here.

    Thanks for trying, but dumb is still dumb.

    Reply

  3. whatigotsofar
    Dec 17, 2009 @ 11:45:57

    my first cat tried to jump over a lit candle. it never went near an open flame again.

    HAHAHA! Around here we call that Catty Flambé. Cats are much quicker learners than dogs.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

