Random

There’s nothing specific to write about today so just some random thoughts about the restaurant.

I’ve been a hostess/cashier two nights a week for the last few weeks.  I think everyone should have to do a different job because you appreciate the regular person so much more.  Hostess/cashier is the easiest job until it gets busy, then it is kind of a headache. 

Everyone is ready to kill the new hire, who isn’t new anymore.  I gave her my two cents and made my peace so now I’m pretty ‘meh’ about her.  Everyone else wants to stick a fork in her.  The last few days she’s been on the Christmas drama kick and is “too stressed out” to work.  She disappears for long periods of time and melts down to a cussing frenzy if anyone asks her to do anything.  Darren has his own little cussing frenzy any time someone mentions her name.  Oh well.

We had the Christmas party last night and only a handful of people showed up.  We had it at Pizza Hut so we didn’t have to clean up the mess and it was interesting for all of us to be in a place where customer service standards aren’t as high as ours.  I don’t know how many times the server said and did things that made our eyes get huge ‘cuz we’d be in trouble for doing the same thing.  When she fired up the vacuum right beside us as we were eating, I thought we were all going to fall out of our chairs.  Vacuuming while there are people in the restaurant is strictly forbidden.  Our cooks were agast at how much money we left for a tip, but a table of servers is going to tip well.

Dani is leaving for Florida tomorrow to get married.  She is having trouble finding a justice of the peace to marry them so I hope that works out.  I wish her the best and hope she has a safe trip there and back.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcKnyt
    Dec 22, 2009 @ 04:35:27

    I might have to go random myself. I’ve got nothing to blog about either. Nice to be able to go out and be served for a change, eh? 🙂

    It was nice. Everyone wanted to know why we didn’t have the party at the restaurant. Duh?! The clean-up fairy is on break.

    Merry Christmas and happy New Year if I don’t talk to you before. 🙂

    I’ll be around, but Merry Christmas & Happy New Year to you too.

    Reply

  2. whatigotsofar
    Dec 22, 2009 @ 06:09:37

    When I was in high school, a buddy of mine worked at Pizza Hut. I hung out there with him after shifts a couple of times. Their mascot was a cockroach they caught in the kitchen and fed it and kept it alive. I forget what they named it though.

    o_O Thanks for that. 🙂

    Reply

  3. DarcsFalcon
    Dec 22, 2009 @ 16:32:10

    At least you got to go out to eat, though, right? That has to bring some kind of happy. No bill, and no mess to clean – sounds like a deal to me. I hope you had a nice time!

    It was nice. Too bad it only happens once a year.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

