I Stand Corrected

It seems like it was just yesterday when I said I felt pretty “meh” about the new hire who isn’t new any more.  I wonder why that is.  Oh, because it WAS yesterday.  I also said I made my peace with her and moved on.

Today, right in the middle of lunch, she informed me that her arm was broken and therefore she couldn’t take any tables.  She could, however, stand right in my way and text on her phone.  I was so pissed I told her to clock out and go home. 

After the lunch melee died down I asked Darren what he had planned for her.  He said she wouldn’t be back at 5 to relieve me, so I was going to have to work until close, but she would be in tomorrow. 

I asked why she wasn’t fired and he told me he couldn’t fire her right now because he didn’t have anyone to replace her and he wanted to give her another chance.  I said I wanted her fired and he said it wasn’t my choice.  I said, “You’re right.  It’s my choice to help you out of a bind anytime you need me, but my schedule depends on whether or not she chooses to work.”  

Then I did what any hardened waitress who is able to shut down the most vile hockey mom would do. 

I started crying. 

Yep.  Big crocodile tears.  I went outside to the picnic table and cried like a sissy.

Darren came out, and I cried some more.  Then he went in the office, pulled an application out of the stack, called a young woman to come in for an interview and hired her.  All within an hour of the first teardrop.

HAHAHAHA! 

If I had known it was that easy I would have cried a long time ago.

The new, new girl starts on the 26th.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcsFalcon
    Dec 23, 2009 @ 01:24:02

    ROFLMFAO!!! Oh you are so BAD! I love it! Congrats on the new hire!

    I’m just happy she’s gone.

    Reply

  2. DarcKnyt
    Dec 23, 2009 @ 02:05:27

    ROFLMAO2! WOW, what POWER! Move over Streep, here’s Holly! HAHAHAHAHAHA!

    You’re awesome. When you win the Oscar take a pic for us. 🙂

    There was no acting involved here. I was so upset all I could do was cry. Too bad I have to help cover her shift until everyone gets back from vacation next week. Oh well, I need the money.

    Reply

  3. DarcsFalcon
    Dec 27, 2009 @ 19:56:14

    Hey, ran across some blog fodder for you – thought you might be interested. 🙂

    http://shine.yahoo.com/channel/food/20-secrets-your-waiter-will-never-tell-you-550722/

    Thanks! I saw it and was going to use it as a post.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

