Glory, the Attacker

My last table tonight was a woman I’ve waited on before. Every time she’s been in the restaurant, she’s been with her husband and small child and she treats them like shit. She’s impatient, rolling her eyes, smacking at her kid, talking down to her husband (who seems to be a pretty nice guy) exasperated and overall a big assed meanie. She’s also under 25 years old, large and very unattractive.

Tonight she was with another young woman and I didn’t recognize her until I was at the table. I did an inward groan, but continued to be polite as she fanned away my attempt to pour water with one hand while smacking on the kid with the other hand. They ordered dinners and a salad bar to share. I told them that wasn’t allowed and the mean woman snapped, “We can share if we want.”

Alrighty then.

I told Darren what was going on and he said to remind them that if they shared the salad bar, I would have to charge them. So when the younger woman was at the salad bar, I approached her and quietly said, “The manager said if you share the salad bar I have to charge you, so please don’t do it.” She said she wouldn’t and I thought all was well.

About 2 minutes later I took their food out and as soon as I set it down, the mean woman asked to talk to the manager. I told her I would get Darren for her and as I was walking away she started yelling about me being rude.

Whatever.

So Darren went out to talk to her. A few minutes later he came in the waitstation and said, “She said you attacked her and her kid.”

WTF?!

Darren saw the look on my face and said, “Yeah. That’s what I thought. I told her I’d pull the security tape and suddenly she changed her story and said you verbally attacked her and her son.”

Still WTF?!! I never said anything to the kid since he was too busy ducking and covering and I was nothing but polite to her because I’ve always known she is the type to create a big, raging scene. Maybe next time she comes in, she can bring a dog so I can kick it, too.

Who does this shit? Who outright lies about someone in the attempt to get them in trouble that they don’t deserve?

This is why I’m not a manager. Any customer who lied about one of my employees would find themselves hungry and sitting out on the curb. I know Darren had my back on this and he is limited on what he can do, but holy shit. If ever someone needed a case of food posioning, she’s it.

The most frightening thing about this whole encounter is Amanda said the woman works at a daycare.

I haven’t handed one of these out in a while, but I think one is necessary here.

You know you are.

And in the future, please refer to me as Glory, the Attacker.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kate
    Jan 06, 2010 @ 01:22:11

    What an awful woman!

    We have a young family next door and the mom is a day care worker. She has two little kids of her own whom she leaves with her mother, rather than take them to the daycare. Don’t blame her really, but the thing is she’s a really bad mom herself. Her kids are seriously neglected. When she’s home with them she ignores them, just leaves them to cry for hours, and I mean literally for hours. Her partner’s not home a lot of the time as he’s an alcoholic. If it weren’t for the kids grandma, I think they’d starve. These people are the best reason I know to not leave your kid in a daycare.

    What a sad story. Think of all the kids these two women are abusing while their parents are paying for them to be cared for. I don’t know if I can ignore this.

    New blog looks great.

    Thanks!

    Reply

  2. whatigotsofar
    Jan 06, 2010 @ 05:20:40

    DOUBLE YOU TEA EFF!

    I don’t want to seem like a crazy nutjob or something worse, but seriously, some people should not be allowed to breed.

    I agree.

    Reply

  3. DarcKnyt
    Jan 06, 2010 @ 10:49:38

    That woman is incredibly typical.

    I’ve met quite a few like her. A person very similar is the reason, in part, I’m still out of work and not a full-time employee at a large company in this area. I was accused of sexually harassing her. Not fun. I didn’t do it, and I don’t know why it ever came up except she wanted to remove me (I started with the company as a temp before she did) from the path between her and a full-time job.

    I can’t believe the lies people tell in order to get their way. I think you go to Hell for that.

    She has it. I’m out of work. AGAIN.

    These types of people are everywhere. It’d be interesting to record her abuse of her child and report it to state or county authorities and have her daycare license revoked, charges brought against her, etc. She how she likes being treated underhanded.

    I am thinking about how I can call the daycare and tell them how she treats her own child in public. Maybe they will watch her and make sure she isn’t damaging other people’s kids. I don’t care *that* she works, only that she has no business being around kids.

    Besides, a person like that has no business caring for children — her own or anyone else’s. (Of course, I’m not opposed to corporal punishment for children within reason — spankings aren’t life-threatening if done in love and care — but does she do that to her charges as well as her own kids? and how bad is the smacking?).

    Haha. I didn’t read this paragraph before I commented above. Great minds think alike. I think the abuse is more emotional than physical. The smacking is half hearted, but she acts sooo put out by everything the kids does. I think she is looking for attention, for someone to be sympathetic with her because she has to raise such a “horrible” child when all she does is make everyone feel sorry for the kid. Her whole attitude is one of long-suffering exasperation; like everyone on the planet is a burden to her. And again, she’s under 25 years old.

    *Sigh* These sorts of stories and people make me sad. I’m with WIGSF; some shouldn’t be permitted to breed.

    These sorts of people make me want to stay home.

    Reply

  4. DarcsFalcon
    Jan 06, 2010 @ 13:36:16

    Wow. Just wow. There are people in this world that just make it that much harder to get through.

    Hopefully she won’t be back in, and you won’t have to deal with her anymore.

    She will be back, but my contact with her is finished. Darren told her she was to ask for a different server on any future visits…mostly so I wouldn’t have to deal with her.

    We get rid of problem people by giving them substandard service and adequate food. Sooner or later they figure out their dining dollars are better spent somewhere else.

    Did I also mention that she NEVER tips? What would you expect, right?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

