My Day Off

I spent my second day off doing hard physical labour.  Sometimes I hate days off because I work harder for free than I do when I’m getting paid.

I had a couch and a loveseat that the dogs completely destroyed about a year ago sitting in my living room, leaking stuffing all over.  A friend brought his truck to my house today and we hauled the ruined furniture to the dump.  Then my son and I moved my bed into the living room and now I have a little studio type house.

This is very nice because now I don’t have to worry about heating the back half of the house.  My electric bill will be much lower and I won’t use as much wood.  I rejoice at all the money I’m going to save.

Since I’m anti-social and everyone hates/fears my dogs, no one ever comes to visit so who cares that my bed is in my living room.  Eventually I will turn my old bedroom into an entertainment room, but until then I have the big TV in the living room so I can watch it in bed.

I’m so excited about my changes, but I really need to go back to work so I can get some rest.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcsFalcon
    Jan 07, 2010 @ 19:53:56

    I envy you! I’d love to move my bed to the living room, where the TV is. But, that’s not going to happen any time soon.

    I have a little TV in my old bedroom, but the big TV is where it’s at. I’m just worried that the dogs will tear up my bed in the same way they did the couches. If that happens, 4 dogs will be kenneled while I’m gone.

    You’re smart for doing it like that. I’d love to know what the % savings end up being. 🙂

    I’m curious to see what I save. Every little bit helps.

    Reply

  2. whatigotsofar
    Jan 08, 2010 @ 04:54:55

    I used to have a TV in my bedroom. It ruined me. I can no longer fall asleep without a TV on. I got rid of the TV but couldn’t get to sleep. Now, I watch videos on my laptop to fall asleep.

    I have to have a fan on and I even have a small one for when I travel. No fan = no sleep.

    Reply

  3. Kate
    Jan 08, 2010 @ 19:04:14

    Well where is it written that a person has to arrange their house in some sort of socially decreed order? Bed in the livingroom sounds very practical, hope you have a remote for the TV, and some really comfy pillows though.

    HAHA! You’ll worry when I move my kitchen to the laundry room, though.

    Reply

  4. DarcKnyt
    Jan 08, 2010 @ 22:53:13

    I think that’s brilliant, frankly. Not the hard labor part, just the living room/bed thing. That’s where you LIVE, right? The LIVING room? Why NOT have the bed there? Brilliant.

    My plan was to move the bed back to my bedroom in the summer, but it was such an endeavor I think it’s staying right where it is. It was a little weird seeing the sun come up from a different angle.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

