The New, New Hire

Well, she’s been at the restaurant for just a couple of weeks and she’s already stirring shit.  This does not bode well.

Last Tuesday she came to work with her bangs up in a pony tail on top of her head and the rest of her hair hanging down all over.  I commented in passing that she needed to put all her hair up.  

I do not make the rules when it comes to servers and their hair, the state does.  I just make sure we aren’t getting unnecessary visits from the health inspector. 

Somehow she decided I was picking on her so she ran and told Darren, who was in a foul mood, and he yelled at me for being bossy.  As I mentioned before, Darren and I have a long, long history of fighting so in a matter of seconds we were shouting at each other about hair. 

For crying out loud.

In the middle of all the snarling and raging, the new hire started braiding her hair, which she should have done to begin with.  Then she said, “I didn’t mean to cause any trouble.”

Uh, yes you did.

Today when I got to work Anna wouldn’t talk to me.  Eventually I asked why she was crabby and she said she didn’t like people backstabbing her.  Then she proceeded to tell me all sorts of shit the new hire said I said. 

Am I in middle school?!

I asked Anna why on earth she would believe I said anything to the new hire because 1) I don’t like new people, 2) If I was going to confide in anyone it wouldn’t be anyone new and, most importantly, 3) I’m not the backstabbing sort.  If you piss me off I can’t keep my mouth shut long enough for you to turn around.

This isn’t going to work out for her.  Anna and I will confront her about the lies and everyone else will shut her out.  New people have to prove themselves to us and so far she’s proven herself to be a liar, a shit stirrer and a drama maker. 

We don’t like that.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcKnyt
    Jan 09, 2010 @ 13:14:00

    Gimme a break! This is so ridiculous! I actually swatted my forehead in disbelief at this post.

    How can one position be so hard to fill?

    It would shock you to know how many employees go through the doors. Typically we don’t have trouble with the winter time staff because they are people who actually want jobs.

    With so many out of work I’d think people would be FIGHTING for the job! But you guys can’t seem to get anyone worth their weight in fecal matter to hire!

    Remember, the new hire was someone we all strongly advised against, yet The Manager hired her in a pinch. The new, new hire was another person who was hired on the spot. We will probably go through several people before we find one who fits.

    I would almost — almost — understand this behavior if you were staffed by a bunch of high school kids working their way through school. College freshman even, maybe. MAYbe. But grown-ups? C’mon. C’mon!

    This girl is 21 and has some emotional development issues so calling her a grown up is really pushing it.

    Unbelievable. I don’t think I could take two years of this kind of stuff the way you have, Holl.

    This is why I make it a policy to have nothing to do with new employees. I figure if they are worth knowing, I’ll learn their names in a few weeks after everyone else has checked them out.

    Reply

  2. DarcsFalcon
    Jan 09, 2010 @ 13:51:06

    Oh this is not going to be pretty!

    You guys should set up a hidden camera and start your own reality show there in the restaurant. Call it … Holly Slices or something. I swear, the stuff that goes on there – a fiction writer wouldn’t get away with it.

    I wish I could make this shit up. Sadly, this is one of the few restaurants I’ve worked where the employees actually get along. There are many worse restaurants out there.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

