Duck and Dogs

This morning as I peacefully slumbered, probably with my mouth open, drooling and snoring, I heard the sound of slappy duck feet go running by my bed.

I opened one eye and there was Fleur standing by my bed quietly quackquackquacking at me and flapping her big wings.  Obviously, she found a way around the barricade in the hall.

Not one dog moved from the bed.  Otis stared while the rest of them slept, unconcerned about the sucessful escape plan of a duck.  Fleur tried her hardest to lure the dogs off the bed, but no dice.  She ran around the living room, approached the food bowl, got a drink from the water bowl, quacked loudly, and made gentle peeps as she assumed the breeding position in case anyone wanted some early morning duck action.  Only Otis watched her every move.

Finally she waddled herself to the side of my bed, sat on her feet, tucked her bill under her feathers and went to sleep.  We all slept for two more hours.  Well, probably not Otis.  I’m sure he stared.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcKnyt
    Jan 11, 2010 @ 14:33:56

    You need to set up a CCV system in your house. You really do. This is YouTube video gold. You’ll be a Netsation!

    Would I make enough money to hire a housekeeper? I’ll tell you, these people with a houseful of kids are nowhere as entertaining as the duck and dogs.

    Reply

  2. DarcsFalcon
    Jan 11, 2010 @ 15:22:18

    This is hilarious! A duck who teases dogs – that’s so funny. 😀

    I think she wanted up on the bed too. There was no way that was happening.

    Reply

  3. Sherri
    Jan 11, 2010 @ 17:20:25

    We need pictures of Fleur.

    I’ll see what I can do.

    Reply

  4. wigsf
    Jan 11, 2010 @ 18:49:10

    the things some ducks will do for money

    She’s a slut.

    Reply

  5. Caroline
    May 18, 2011 @ 05:23:21

    When I was a young teenager we had a rottweiler, Cleo and she hated ducks. We lived on a golf course (17th hole) and there was a man made lake right at the end of our backyard and so every summer ducks would come down and spend most of their time on the lake or on our lawn. I used to feed them bread in the morning but as soon as my mother let Cleo out she would run at them and snap and they hated her for that. So, one day they decided to get their revange. Cleo was on the tip of the backyard peering into the lake to see if the ducks were there. They were on their way down and they just quickly past over her very very close to her head to scare her and she jumped so high it was hillarious. she kept her distance for a while after that but a few weeks later she was back to running at them.

    Ducks can be evil. The yard cats know to keep their distance from my two.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

