Scraps

As some of you know, I have about 7,000 cats that hang around outside my house.  I feel sorry for them so I fee them.  That causes them to tell all their friends where to get a free meal.  Those friends tell two friends, and those friends tell two friends and so on and so on until I can’t walk outside without stepping on cats.

For the longest time I was feeding them dry cat food, spending more money on cat food than I was on people food.  I almost went bankrupt.  Then I started working at the restaurant.

You would NOT believe the amount of food people throw away.  I only bring home meat scraps, yet every night I have gallon containers full of beef, pork, chicken, shrimp, and fish.  The stray cats around my house probably eat better than some families do. 

During the summer I have to limit the amount of food which is saved or I would be forced to haul it out with a forklift.  We serve prime rib on Friday nights and when I get home, the road to my house is lined with cats waiting for some top notch dinner.  It’s like something out of a horror story.

When I was a kid, I heard about all those starving kids in Africa.  I don’t know how cleaning my plate was supposed to help them, but my mom was pretty certain it would.  When people don’t clean their plates and can’t even be bothered to box it up and take it home with them, it’s obvious no one cares about the starving kids in Africa anymore.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcsFalcon
    Jan 13, 2010 @ 16:37:09

    Can I come be a cat at your house?

    Lucky doggone felines, getting prime rib on Friday nights! I’m soooo jealous!

    Some of the scraps are untouched portions of what people have decided are not good enough for them and are sent back to the kitchen. It is really hard to throw that type of food away or to even feed it to the cats when so many people are hungry.

    Reply

  2. DarcKnyt
    Jan 13, 2010 @ 16:51:06

    PRIME RIB?! For CATS?!?

    I SOOO want to come to your house Friday nights in summer. If I meow, will you feed me scraps of prime rib too? PLLLEEEEEASE?

    You wouldn’t even have to meow. I have some of the fattest stray cats in the county.

    Reply

  3. Kate
    Jan 13, 2010 @ 17:28:18

    You’re a soft touch and the cats know it. The imagery of you wheeling food down a road lined with cats is too funny.

    Honestly it’s a little creepy. They watch me drive by and all fall in behind me. I keep waiting for them to attack. They are wild cats, after all.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

