Police Calls

I was all set to post about the couple who came in the restaurant the other night and proceeded to make out the entire time they were there, but I saw something in our local paper that made me change my mind.

Every Wednesday the Cody Enterprise prints all the traffic violations and police calls from the preceeding week. This is the only reason some people (like me) buy the paper. There is always at least one weird police call and plenty of evidence that people have way too much time on their hands and no sense of discretion about when to call the police and when to let it ride.

This week’s winner might be good enough to be the yearly winner. It reads:

Woman on Spicer Lane reported on Jan. 5 receiving a text message stating if she did not forward the text to 10 people a clown would kill her.  Sheriff’s Office reports the message is believed to be computer generated spam and that no homicidal clown showed up.

Whew!  I’m glad the Sheriff’s Office cleared that up.  I wonder how long they waited for the clown.  I also wonder how long it took the brainiacs in the Sheriff’s Office to decide the text was spam.  I don’t know which is worse, that someone would call the police over a text message or that the police would actually investigate it and make a statement about it.

And yes, these are the people I rub shoulders with every day. It’s no wonder I can feel my IQ slipping away.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kate
    Jan 14, 2010 @ 21:10:50

    A homicidal clown, the mind boggles. I don’t get spam like that!
    Didn’t know William Cody was such a naughty boy, either, surprised he had time.

    He was known as something of a scoundrel back in the day.

    Love that old house featured in the paper.

    That house has been an eyesore and a laughingstock for as long as I can remember. I know the owner wants to do tours through it and all, but it’s just proof that living in Wyoming will drive you mad eventually.

    You do live in an interesting place.

    Thank you. I think it’s pretty interesting even if it’s a WTF? sort of interesting.

    Reply

  2. DarcsFalcon
    Jan 14, 2010 @ 21:53:25

    Can’t sleep, clowns will eat me, can’t sleep, clowns will eat me, can’t sleep … ROFLMAO!!! Oh my gosh that’s so freaking funny! Hahahahahah!

    I thought of that same thing. HAHA! Everybody hates a clown.

    Reply

  3. DarcKnyt
    Jan 14, 2010 @ 21:59:37

    Yeah … I ditched the clown suit when I saw all the cop cars around her place. Next time I’m wearing the chicken suit. NO ONE suspects the chicken! Muaaahahahahahahaha!!

    Attention: Be on the lookout for a strange man in a chicken suit. He’s unarmed, but comically dangerous. Approach with caution.

    … srsly, people. Please.

    Oh you should see how people abuse our tax dollars with asinine calls to the police. I’m surprised they don’t just shoot ’em all when they respond to some of this bullshit.

    Reply

  4. whatigotsofar
    Jan 15, 2010 @ 04:58:17

    “Can’t sleep, clown will eat me. Can’t sleep, clown will eat me.”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

