Freebies

Tonight we had a bus load of kids from a Lander, a town in central Wyoming.  They were all very polite and pleasant until they got ready to leave.  Three of the coaches and the bus driver went out to the bus and brought in big travel coffee mugs and requested we fill them.  For free.

When I said I couldn’t give stuff away, the bus driver informed me, “If you ever want to see that bus in your parking lot again, you’ll fill my coffee mug for free.”

One of the coaches told me I should do what’s “right and decent” and give them all free coffee.

Colour me dumbfounded.

My dad drives a school bus and I don’t see him threatening a server’s livlihood for a free cup of coffee. 

On one hand, it’s a pot of coffee and they did spend a lot of money in the restaurant.  On the other hand, it’s a pot of coffee and we are in the business of making money off stuff like that.

I finally told them it wasn’t my coffee to give away and and since the owner wasn’t there, they were going to have to pay for it.  I’m sure he would have given them all free coffee, but it wasn’t my decision to make.  I’m employed to make money for him, not give away his profits.

They bitched and moaned about having to pay for the coffee, which they added to the voucher, so the school actually paid for it.

I have never asked for a freebie or felt I was entitled to one and bullied the help no matter how much money I spent.  I routinely spend all of my earnings at Walmart, but I don’t badger the checkout person for free Chapstick or dryer sheets. 

Shame on these guys.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. cheapchix
    Jan 17, 2010 @ 01:44:04

    That is horrible! I’m all for saving a buck BUT NOT at the expense of someone else. Rules are rules! That “free coffee” they demanded could have cost you your job!

    Yes it could have. People don’t realize when they ask you to break the rules, your job is on the line. If you refuse, they see you as being selfish, uncooperative, rude or mean. If Walmart employees gave stuff away, it would be called theft.

    I used to work in a bakery ~ was horrible 😦 I feel your pain!

    I too worked at a bakery years ago. I HATED it.

    Thanks for stopping by.

    – Chix

    Reply

  2. Kate
    Jan 17, 2010 @ 03:17:35

    If there’s a freebie going it’s offered, you don’t have to ask for it.

    “right and decent” assclowns.

    Yeah, the “right and decent” comment made my jaw hit the floor. What’s “right and decent” is not giving my employer’s stuff away.

    Reply

  3. whatigotsofar
    Jan 17, 2010 @ 09:56:20

    Never being an asshole is the right and decent thing to do. And I’m glad these people are put in charge of our children.

    Yeah, nice example they provided for the kids…badger and harass minimum wage employees into getting what you want. It’s the right and decent thing to do.

    Reply

  4. DarcKnyt
    Jan 17, 2010 @ 11:28:10

    The “right and decent” thing to do in this situation is not ask for free stuff, and NOT to bully the help.

    Do they try this at their local grocery store? their local thrift shop? their local department store? their local gas stations?

    Why feel free to do it at any OTHER business? People seem to think they’re entitled to free food at a restaurant, but those same people wouldn’t try that at a grocery store.

    I learned tonight that we are actually supposed to charge more than we did for the big travel mugs. Guess I’ll know next time. Haha.

    Reply

  5. DarcsFalcon
    Jan 17, 2010 @ 13:41:53

    It seems typical these days that people demand more than they’re entitled to, that they think they’re entitled to demand more somehow. And who made these guys the arbiter of what’s right and decent?

    They were getting a free meal (school was paying) and then they wanted more free stuff. Where does it stop?

    I just did a post on my political blog about an article I saw where a news guy praised the reports of Obama’s theft of a place he worked at as a teen. This kind of attitude has permeated our culture now and it’s a shameful thing. If you want to read it, here’s the link: http://politicalness.wordpress.com/2010/01/15/obamas-theft/

    I’ll check it out.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

