Gum

I think I’ve mentioned before how disgusting I think gum is.  People slop it around in their mouths, chomp on it, snap it, stick it on their plates, spit it out on the sidewalk and stick it under restaurant tables.  If I had my way, gum would be illegal.

Yes, I know gum is useful for fresh breath, dieting, soothing a dry throat and easing stomach acid.  But people are as irresponsible and inconsiderate with their gum as they are with their cell phones.

A few days ago I noticed someone had spit their gum out right by the back door of the restaurant.  Only an employee could spit it there.  This is utter bullshit.  It shows a lack of pride in your place of employment and complete disregard for your co-workers, one of whom is going to have to pick up the gum.

Yesterday I had to scrape the gum from the underside of the restaurant tables.  Every piece I found made me shout, “WHO DOES THIS SHIT?!”  Thankfully, the restaurant was empty at the time.  My co-workers believed it was kids or teenagers, but I know from experience adults spill their drinks far more often than kids or teenagers do.  My money is on the adults.

What’s worse is we have a large stack of napkins on every table.  Why on earth would someone take the sloppy gum from their mouth and cram it under the table when they could neatly use a napkin?  I just don’t understand.

There is a special place in Hell reserved for people who stick their gum on their plate and forget it.  How expensive is gum?  Do you really need to recycle it?  Do you have any idea what kind of mess it makes when a plate with gum gets thrown in a bus tub and smeared all over the other plates?  Do you care?  Probably not.

Gum.  It’s what’s wrong with the world.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kate
    Jan 27, 2010 @ 19:35:17

    Remember that old song by Lonnie Donegan (I think) – “Does your chewing gum lose it’s flavor on the bedpost overnight”?

    Yes I do. I had it on an album with other songs such as “May the Bird of Paradise Fly up Your Nose”.

    I hate getting the stuff on my shoes and then having to scrape it off, never mind tables.

    I hate getting it anywhere.

    Probably is what’s wrong with the world. 🙂

    No doubt about it.

    Reply

  2. Sherri
    Jan 27, 2010 @ 19:42:26

    I love gum, but then again, I don’t have to clean up strangers’ inconsiderate gum placement. And don’t you worry, I’m careful to make sure mine is wrapped up and tossed in a trashcan. I probably smack, though.

    I worked in an office for this guy who would slurp, slop, chomp, and make other disgusting noises with his gum. It was just one of many reasons why I wanted to shoot him in the head.

    Reply

  3. KLund
    Jan 10, 2011 @ 17:07:04

    Kinda like when people wipe boogers all over the bathroom walls when they are sitting right next to a roll of toilet paper.

    The worst are the men who hock loogies on the wall above the urinal. I want to hunt them down and rub their noses in it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

