Dumb F*#k Friday

Tonight when I mentioned the only type of people I had all day were of the dumb variety, Jamie named it Dumb Fuck Friday.  Then she went on to be Queen of the Day. 

She gave the wrong tickets to the wrong tables and only discovered her error AFTER a table overpaid by nearly $8.  This was ironic since the people are horrible, horrible tippers and I pointed and laughed at her since they left her $1.65 on a $32 ticket.

Then she charged a family for an extra prime rib, which they noticed AFTER I ran their credit card.  Luckily my register was off by only 10 cents at the end of the night or I would have fucked her up.

It was also the night of the ‘Wolf Moon’, the brightest moon of 2010.  I knew it was a full moon by all the lunacy going on in the kitchen.  This is what happens when you get all toked up and try to cook.  If The Manager had walked in the restaurant tonight, we would have all been fired.  It’s cool to have fun at work, but there comes a point where it’s too much.  The kitchen took one giant step beyond this point tonight.

It’s in the wind that one of the cooks is going to be trained to be a cashier/host.  It’s the cook who openly talks about his past (current? future?) meth use.  He’s missing teeth and looks like a tweeker.  Is this really what we want customers to see as the “face” of the restaurant?  He can barely keep his shit together in the kitchen, so I can’t imagine how he’s going to relate to the general public.

Eh.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kate
    Jan 30, 2010 @ 05:38:09

    It’s odd the effect the moon seems to have. No matter what logic tells us, there it is.

    MOTH’s been up on the roof doing things, with the cats helping – definitely a moon effect.
    I love it when cats help. They are much better helpers than dogs.

    A druggie cook as a cashier, now that’s got to be lunacy.
    It seems like an obviously bad choice to me, but that’s why I’m just a waitress.

    Reply

  2. whatigotsofar
    Jan 30, 2010 @ 06:13:33

    In my experience, it’s never a wise decision to put the person with a questionable drug history anywhere near the cash register. Even if the person is clean, they’ve got contacts who aren’t, whether they want the contacts or not.

    I don’t know what they are thinking. Oh yeah. They want to build trust before they start training him on manager duties. WTF?!

    I once worked with this guy who had a history of drug problems. When he got into the safe and took 800 bucks, he blamed it on me.
    Long story short, he got fired and I got his girlfriend. Boo-yah!

    Woo Hoo! for you. I know I won’t follow him as cashier without the proper paperwork being done. I will not be blamed for missing money and I don’t want his girlfriend.

    Reply

  3. whatigotsofar
    Jan 30, 2010 @ 12:32:01

    But his girlfriend did have a hot ass. Don’t know if that does anything for you, but it did something for me. Hoo-aah!

    Let me see…some chick’s ass…nope, it does nothing for me.

    Reply

  4. DarcsFalcon
    Jan 30, 2010 @ 20:35:37

    Sure, everyone can use a 2nd chance, then there’s foolishness. This is a foolish idea, putting this guy on the register, especially if he can barely hold it together in the kitchen. There’s a reason the pretty girl always gets the “hostess” job.

    If he was off drugs it would be one thing, but he gets high in the parking lot during every shift. Even if it’s an honest mistake, it’s still a problem when you are dealing with someone else’s money.

    I think that’s funny about those lousy tippers getting over charged and not even noticing. Kind of a sweet sort of justice. 🙂

    I know. If it had been good tippers I would have suggested holding the cash in an envelope until their next visit. As it was, we let it ride as an error for the house.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

