Facebook

The internet plays a major role in my life because I live in an isolated area and because I like to control my contact with other people.  I am selective with my friends both in real life and in cyberspace.  I’m not willing to give up all of my time to feed other peoples’ needs. 

Over the years I’ve been a member of message boards and other groups.  I have a myspace account and obviously, I blog.  I’ve met some pretty cool people in interesting places with interesting stories to tell; people I know I would consider a friend if we weren’t separated by distance.

I’ve also met people I wouldn’t piss on if they were on fire.

Then there is that one person on the message board or in the group who drives me batshit insane.  She (it’s always a she) is like that person at a cocktail party who just won’t shut up and who annoys me to the point police intervention becomes necessary.  She invades my internet spaces and posts comment after innane comment on my post or page.  She is in my face 24/7 and I can’t possibly ignore her because she won’t let me.  It would seem that I could shut out a cyber connection, but there are other people I like who are attached to this person, so I have to wade through all of her blah, blah, blah to visit with them. 

For years I said I would never have a facebook account or be a part of twitter.  Recently, I caved on facebook.  And you know what?!  Not 2 days after I started the account, this woman showed up with a friend request.  WTF?!  I have successfully avoided her for well over a year.  I used my real name on facebook rather than a moniker.  Did she have a permanent search set up so she would know the instant I opened an account?  Stalker.

So now her friend request sits in the upper right hand corner of my page like a big, fat, ugly elephant trumpeting in my ear and scratching my brain.  I don’t know if I can deny or ignore her without facebook sending her a message.  I know my regular readers are surprised I don’t just tell her to fuck off, but I don’t like confrontation.  I’d much rather quietly ignore and live in my happy, sunshiney world.

So if any of you facebook pros have a recommendation for me, let me know.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sherri
    Feb 03, 2010 @ 19:46:59

    If you ignore the request, no notification is sent to her. You can also block her from sending another, also with no notification. She won’t find you in a search if you do that, either. Also, you can go to your settings and change your profile to private, and also make it so you can’t be found in a search by anyone, if you prefer. If you need any help doing that, I’ll be glad to help.

    I don’t know if I want to be invisible to everyone, but certainly to her. Thanks for the advice, I’m off to block an annoyance.

    Reply

  2. DarcKnyt
    Feb 04, 2010 @ 06:57:13

    I think it’s Sherri. It’s Sherri, isn’t it. C’mon, you can tell me. I know it’s Sherri. I’m gonna go tell her.

    Oh … hi, Sher ….

    No, Sherri is my friend. Maybe it’s you and I changed the gender. What do you think of that?

    Reply

    • Sherri
      Feb 04, 2010 @ 09:44:08

      You silly. I wondered if it was me, but then I read the person had followed her other places and knew I was off the hook. LOL

      That and I approved your friend request. No, this goes back years.

      Reply

  3. DarcsFalcon
    Feb 04, 2010 @ 13:54:43

    ROFLMAO!! I was scared it was me, when I saw the “attached to other people you like” thing, because I know you and Darc were friends first, from that old Storiesville place. A big whew to realize it’s really not me! 😀

    Yes, but how do you really know. HAHA!

    I’m on FB too, but with a borrowed connection we haven’t been able to get on there. It’s a big drain so we don’t go right now. I’m pretty sure though that what Sherri said is how it works – the blocked party isn’t notified that they’ve been blocked. I do know Twitter does not notify either.

    I sent both you and Darc friend requests, but I figured you hadn’t been there because of your limited internet. Or at least I hoped that was the reason I hadn’t been approved. 😉

    Reply

  4. dcaswell@ufl.edu
    Feb 04, 2010 @ 15:19:58

    DENY, DENY,DENY. I even went so far as to remove the part on Facebook that lets others know who you’ve recently become friends with, all to protect your secret identity.

    Be sure to set all your setting to friends only on FB, that’ll help.

    I “wonder” who this could be

    Yeah, you know who it is. She must have seen me on someone else’s friend list. I don’t know why she annoys me so much, oh wait…it was the description of her Brazialian bikini wax that she had one of her employees do. It was all downhill after that.

    Reply

  5. DarcsFalcon
    Feb 04, 2010 @ 16:29:37

    Hahaha, well there you go! I’ve never had – nor would I ever – a Brazilian bikini wax, and if I did I sure as hell wouldn’t blog about it, or let an employee do it! LOL So, not me!

    And she bitched about the ingrown hairs she got. Like I fucking care. Some things are TMI and should be kept to yourself.

    Reply

  6. Mark Rowen
    Dec 31, 2012 @ 15:10:18

    Found your blog today. Made me smile. Thanks. Happy New Year

    Happy New Year!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

